3D Cockpit model

Projects around retexturing and remodeling Descent

Moderators: Frustikus, simX, Aus-RED-5

User avatar
karx11erx
D2X-XL Master
D2X-XL Master
Posts: 8111
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 8:48 pm
Location: Wilferdingen, Germany
Contact:

Re: 3D Cockpit model

Postby karx11erx » Tue Mar 12, 2013 7:00 pm

Good job!

When you give me that model in a D2X-XL compatible form (ASE with proper submodels as in MetalBeast's version), I will put it into D2X-XL. If you didn't rename any submodels and all references to and between them are intact, your model should even work in D2X-XL out of the box.
User avatar
Yoshimitsu
Posts: 179
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 6:58 am
Location: Upstate New York United States
Contact:

Re: 3D Cockpit model

Postby Yoshimitsu » Wed Mar 13, 2013 4:09 am

Thanks for the go-ahead Diedel.

Unfortunately I'm running into problems exporting my meshes into 3DS MAX for unwrapping and texturing. Face normals get flipped at random and nothing I try fixes them. I think the problem has to do with the way I meshed the solid models in Rhino so I have some research to do. Hopefully I won't have to completely recreate the meshes but that might be the case. Well, here I go again...
Windows XP home edition (Service Pack 3 plus all updates)
Asrock Dual Series Motherboard
Onboard Sound (ALC888 Audio Codec) Using Realtek HD Audio Drivers
Intel Core 2 Duo 6400 (2.13Ghz)
2GB RAM
ATI Radeon HD 4850
User avatar
Pumo
D2X-XL Expert
D2X-XL Expert
Posts: 1426
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 9:28 pm
Location: Here :)
Contact:

Re: 3D Cockpit model

Postby Pumo » Wed Mar 13, 2013 6:51 am

Well, I don't have any experience regarding Rhino, just a bit on 3DSMAX and other 3D modeling software, but I found this possible solution to your problem on this:

http://archinect.com/forum/thread/67167 ... de-renders

check out if it works. :)
[Pumo software main website] - Pumo Mines current progress: 60%
-SYSTEM SPECS-
CPU: Intel Core i3 2120 3.30 GHz
RAM: 8GB DDR3 1333MHZ
SSD: Kingston SSDNow V300, 240GB
HDD: Seagate 1TB 7200RPM SATA
External HDD: Seagate Backup Plus Slim 1TB 5400RPM
Video: nVidia GeForce GTX 1050 Ti OC 4GB
Sound: RealTek High Definition Audio
Display 1: HP 2311 23" 1080p HD LED Monitor
Display 2: Dell 19" 1440x900 TFT Monitor
OS: Windows 10 64-bits
User avatar
Yoshimitsu
Posts: 179
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 6:58 am
Location: Upstate New York United States
Contact:

Re: 3D Cockpit model

Postby Yoshimitsu » Thu Mar 14, 2013 6:10 am

Good link Pumo. I bet there's a lot of good info on that site. Sadly the suggestions they offered didn't work for me. Luckily I decided to repeatedly export/import until I got a slightly less problematic mesh. I now have a model with all of the normals facing the right way. I am working on creating objects for all of the screen states in the cockpit as per the list in one of Sirich's earlier post. I will post the complete list of objects when that is complete.

This is my first time using 3DS MAX for anything other than lighting scenes that I had already created in Rhino so I am learning as I go and it might take me a while. So far so good though.
Windows XP home edition (Service Pack 3 plus all updates)
Asrock Dual Series Motherboard
Onboard Sound (ALC888 Audio Codec) Using Realtek HD Audio Drivers
Intel Core 2 Duo 6400 (2.13Ghz)
2GB RAM
ATI Radeon HD 4850
User avatar
Yoshimitsu
Posts: 179
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 6:58 am
Location: Upstate New York United States
Contact:

Re: 3D Cockpit model

Postby Yoshimitsu » Thu Mar 14, 2013 6:53 am

Here are My submodels. Please let me know, Diedel, if any are missing or named wrong.

Screens/Displays

$monitorL
$monitorR
$msl-lock-0
$msl-lock-1
$aftrbrn-ind
$energy-indL
$energy-indR
$energy-num
$shield-ind
$shield-num
$blue-key-0
$blue-key-1
$yellow-key-0
$yellow-key-1
$red-key-0
$red-key-1
$bomb-num-prox
$bomb-num-smart

Geometry/Structure

$base
$struts
$frameL
$frameC
$frameR
$hood
$chair

Next up (in the next few days) is learning to Unwrap/Map and texture.
Windows XP home edition (Service Pack 3 plus all updates)
Asrock Dual Series Motherboard
Onboard Sound (ALC888 Audio Codec) Using Realtek HD Audio Drivers
Intel Core 2 Duo 6400 (2.13Ghz)
2GB RAM
ATI Radeon HD 4850
quadrophoeniX
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2011 3:12 pm

Re: 3D Cockpit model

Postby quadrophoeniX » Fri Mar 15, 2013 11:00 am

Yoshimitsu wrote:those who, like me, play with 3D glasses [...] Wish me luck.


Me do, me do :bounce: can't wait to see that implemented!

(concerning glasses: Oh, how e need nvidia to sign D2X-XL to the approved quad buffered games working on non quadro cards...)
User avatar
Yoshimitsu
Posts: 179
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 6:58 am
Location: Upstate New York United States
Contact:

Re: 3D Cockpit model

Postby Yoshimitsu » Sun Mar 17, 2013 7:27 am

Unwrapping the UVW map in 3DS MAX is driving me up the wall. I am following the tutorials I found exactly, but nothing I try functions the way it should.

Every time I try to use Unfold Mapping, the damned thing lays all of the polygons on top of each other instead of edge to edge.
If I try to stitch edges manually nothing happens at all. I don't have any idea what is going on. I have restarted the program numerous times and reimported the meshes over and over. I'm starting to think that there's something seriously wrong with my meshes.

If anybody has ever had these problems, I could really use a hand figuring them out.

Edit:

Got the solution. My meshes were not welded. I really am brand new to polygon modeling. In Rhino, I manually drew a polygon on each solid surface rather than using an automated meshing tool. I then JOINED the faces together, not realizing that they needed to be WELDED instead. I found 3DS MAX's welding tool on other forums and the problem was solved. Now I can actually start unwrapping.
Windows XP home edition (Service Pack 3 plus all updates)
Asrock Dual Series Motherboard
Onboard Sound (ALC888 Audio Codec) Using Realtek HD Audio Drivers
Intel Core 2 Duo 6400 (2.13Ghz)
2GB RAM
ATI Radeon HD 4850
Ben K
Posts: 452
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 7:21 am
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: 3D Cockpit model

Postby Ben K » Thu Mar 21, 2013 10:30 pm

Ah yes, UV mapping.

Simple when you have it all figured out, but it's the figuring out bit that can be pretty frustrating. I don't work with 3DS unfortunately or I'd offer some tips.
User avatar
Yoshimitsu
Posts: 179
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 6:58 am
Location: Upstate New York United States
Contact:

Re: 3D Cockpit model

Postby Yoshimitsu » Mon Apr 01, 2013 2:50 am

UVW Unwrapping is proceeding slowly but well.

I have a question. How does D2X-XL handle shaders? does it use its own for every object or does each model display with its assigned shader? I would like to give the cockpit a metallic shader and the screens a glass shader but I don't know if these will display in game.

This brings up another question how would the inside of the cockpit be lit? Should the screens be self illuminated? Should there be a light source in the cockpit?

I have plenty left to do before these questions really need answering so I will press on.
Windows XP home edition (Service Pack 3 plus all updates)
Asrock Dual Series Motherboard
Onboard Sound (ALC888 Audio Codec) Using Realtek HD Audio Drivers
Intel Core 2 Duo 6400 (2.13Ghz)
2GB RAM
ATI Radeon HD 4850
User avatar
Weyrman
D2X-XL Expert
D2X-XL Expert
Posts: 579
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 7:47 pm
Location: Brisbane Australia
Contact:

Re: 3D Cockpit model

Postby Weyrman » Tue Apr 02, 2013 7:21 am

I would assume that all screens would be self illuminating, giving the cockpit a 20-30% illumination.

Maybe you could add some strip lights above the lock indicator (but on both sides) that would reflect off the cockpit glass and thereby light the control panel area.
-SYSTEM SPECS-
MBoard:"GigaByte Z68X-UD3H-B3" Motherboard
CPU: Intel i7 E2600 3.40GHz
RAM: 8GB DDR3 2133MHZ
HD: WDC 10EARX 1TB SATA
Video: GigaByte 1G ATI 4890
Monitor: Asus VS428 LCD 24"
Sound: Onboard - now with connected 5.1 sound system
OS: Windows 7 x64 Home Premium
User avatar
Yoshimitsu
Posts: 179
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 6:58 am
Location: Upstate New York United States
Contact:

Re: 3D Cockpit model

Postby Yoshimitsu » Mon Apr 08, 2013 6:03 am

Just finished unwrapping each sub object. Now I get to teach myself texturing! This should be fun.
Windows XP home edition (Service Pack 3 plus all updates)
Asrock Dual Series Motherboard
Onboard Sound (ALC888 Audio Codec) Using Realtek HD Audio Drivers
Intel Core 2 Duo 6400 (2.13Ghz)
2GB RAM
ATI Radeon HD 4850
User avatar
Weyrman
D2X-XL Expert
D2X-XL Expert
Posts: 579
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 7:47 pm
Location: Brisbane Australia
Contact:

Re: 3D Cockpit model

Postby Weyrman » Mon Apr 08, 2013 11:58 am

Thanks for the update! :D

Glad to see you're still hard at it. :coding:

Organises cheer squads on the sidelines.

:jump: :laola: :jump: :laola:

GO :!: GO :!: GO :!: GO CODER GO :!: :coding:

YOU CAN DO IT!
-SYSTEM SPECS-
MBoard:"GigaByte Z68X-UD3H-B3" Motherboard
CPU: Intel i7 E2600 3.40GHz
RAM: 8GB DDR3 2133MHZ
HD: WDC 10EARX 1TB SATA
Video: GigaByte 1G ATI 4890
Monitor: Asus VS428 LCD 24"
Sound: Onboard - now with connected 5.1 sound system
OS: Windows 7 x64 Home Premium
User avatar
Yoshimitsu
Posts: 179
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 6:58 am
Location: Upstate New York United States
Contact:

Re: 3D Cockpit model

Postby Yoshimitsu » Mon Apr 08, 2013 1:16 pm

Yep, still plugging away. Thanks for the encouragement.
Windows XP home edition (Service Pack 3 plus all updates)
Asrock Dual Series Motherboard
Onboard Sound (ALC888 Audio Codec) Using Realtek HD Audio Drivers
Intel Core 2 Duo 6400 (2.13Ghz)
2GB RAM
ATI Radeon HD 4850
User avatar
Yoshimitsu
Posts: 179
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 6:58 am
Location: Upstate New York United States
Contact:

Re: 3D Cockpit model

Postby Yoshimitsu » Wed Apr 10, 2013 4:41 am

I'm have been getting a funny glitch in 3DS MAX. when I first imported my model from Rhino it looked great; texture-less, but great. Now that I have unwrapped it it renders strangely. The quads appear split into triangles and all of the faces seem to be rounded and reflective.

Image
Facets by MD1032, on Flickr

This goes away if I turn on edged faces in the facets with highlights style,

Image
Facets with Edges by MD1032, on Flickr

but if I try to render the scene the glitch appears in the render.

I have no idea where this is coming from or if it would show up in-game but I thought I should address the problem before I go any farther in case I have to remodel the whole thing. If anyone can help I would love it!

P.S. I have posted this on the 3DS MAX forum as well just in case.
Windows XP home edition (Service Pack 3 plus all updates)
Asrock Dual Series Motherboard
Onboard Sound (ALC888 Audio Codec) Using Realtek HD Audio Drivers
Intel Core 2 Duo 6400 (2.13Ghz)
2GB RAM
ATI Radeon HD 4850
Ben K
Posts: 452
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 7:21 am
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: 3D Cockpit model

Postby Ben K » Wed Apr 10, 2013 8:33 pm

You've got smoothed edges on some faces. You'll want to reset all the vertex normals somehow.

Return to “D2X-XL Retexturing & Remodeling Projects”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 1 guest