Questions from the beginer

Everything around the Descent level editor

Moderators: Frustikus, Aus-RED-5

User avatar
Aus-RED-5
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1490
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 9:02 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Re: Questions from the beginer

Postby Aus-RED-5 » Tue Mar 01, 2011 10:11 am

Ouch! I'm not good at explaining or giving a tutorial on how to do things! lol
So I won't be going into great details as to how it all works. I'm the kind of person who just plays around with things till I get the desired effect. :oops:

karx11erx wrote:When you copy the block, its position relative to the current segment's current side decides the orientation at which it gets pasted (it will be pasted at the same position and orientation relative to the segment and side that are current when you paste it). The best thing to do is to make a segment and a side adjacent to the block current, then copy the block, and then paste it to the segment and side you want it to be at.

This is basically what he's saying....

Pic 1ImagePic 02Image

In pic one. The default position of the current cube's "side" is shown.
In pic two. Mark the cube/s you want to copy and paste. You'll want to change the current cube "side" to "line" mode. Press "L" till you set the desired position that will ultimately set the pasted blocks orientation. The current cube in pic 2 is not marked. Only the "line" and orientation is set!

Pic 3Image Pic 4Image

In pic three. Set the current cube's line back to the default side. This will produce the mirror effect when you paste the blocks. Because the position of the "line" from which we copied from. The blocks will paste from that same "line" position and orientation.
In pic four. You can see the blocks that was copied and now pasted. Plus the "line" position and orientation to give the mirror effect.


As for manipulating blocks orientation....
Image
Make sure you are in "block mode" and select the "Editor tool bar" tool. While the marked cubes are set in block mode. You can change the orientation using this tool. ;)

Hope this helps some and good luck! :)



P.S.
Image
The location of your current cube needs to be outside the "marked" blocks BEFORE you copy them. If you are NOT wanting to manipulate them? The current results - you'll having to "push" the blocks outside the space they are occupying.
----System Specs----
Case: Corsair Obsidian 650D Black
Motherboard: ASUS Sabertooth X58
CPU: Intel Core i7 960 3.20ghz
Heat Sink: Corsair H100 CPU Water Cooler
Memory: Corsair 6GB (3 x 2048mb) DDR3 1600 Dominator (PC12800 - TR3X6G1600C8D)
Video Card: ATi SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 7970 3GB GDDR5 OC Edition
Hard Drives: SSD Corsair Force Series 3 F120 120GB & WD5003ABYX Enterprise RE4 500GB
Media Player: LG BH10LS30 BluRay Burner
Power Supply: Corsair HX-850
OS: Windows 7 Pro 64Bit
Monitor: Benq XL2420T LED
User avatar
karx11erx
D2X-XL Master
D2X-XL Master
Posts: 8112
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 8:48 pm
Location: Wilferdingen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Questions from the beginer

Postby karx11erx » Tue Mar 01, 2011 10:40 am

Fantastic post, Aus-RED! :thumb:
User avatar
Aus-RED-5
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1490
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 9:02 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Re: Questions from the beginer

Postby Aus-RED-5 » Tue Mar 01, 2011 10:48 am

Thank you. :)
----System Specs----
Case: Corsair Obsidian 650D Black
Motherboard: ASUS Sabertooth X58
CPU: Intel Core i7 960 3.20ghz
Heat Sink: Corsair H100 CPU Water Cooler
Memory: Corsair 6GB (3 x 2048mb) DDR3 1600 Dominator (PC12800 - TR3X6G1600C8D)
Video Card: ATi SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 7970 3GB GDDR5 OC Edition
Hard Drives: SSD Corsair Force Series 3 F120 120GB & WD5003ABYX Enterprise RE4 500GB
Media Player: LG BH10LS30 BluRay Burner
Power Supply: Corsair HX-850
OS: Windows 7 Pro 64Bit
Monitor: Benq XL2420T LED
Maxymo
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 6:05 pm

Re: Questions from the beginer

Postby Maxymo » Wed Mar 02, 2011 8:20 pm

Aus-RED-5 - thank you. That's what I needed.
Ill read it carefully and play with blocks soon.
Thank you again.
User avatar
Aus-RED-5
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1490
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 9:02 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Re: Questions from the beginer

Postby Aus-RED-5 » Thu Mar 03, 2011 1:53 am

No probs. Feel free to ask again if you need. ;)
----System Specs----
Case: Corsair Obsidian 650D Black
Motherboard: ASUS Sabertooth X58
CPU: Intel Core i7 960 3.20ghz
Heat Sink: Corsair H100 CPU Water Cooler
Memory: Corsair 6GB (3 x 2048mb) DDR3 1600 Dominator (PC12800 - TR3X6G1600C8D)
Video Card: ATi SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 7970 3GB GDDR5 OC Edition
Hard Drives: SSD Corsair Force Series 3 F120 120GB & WD5003ABYX Enterprise RE4 500GB
Media Player: LG BH10LS30 BluRay Burner
Power Supply: Corsair HX-850
OS: Windows 7 Pro 64Bit
Monitor: Benq XL2420T LED
-JoFFa-
Posts: 612
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 2:12 pm

Re: Questions from the beginer

Postby -JoFFa- » Mon Mar 07, 2011 11:23 am

I got a question too. :)

when i apply a second texture - lamp - to a wall - i then select several cubes and make light calculation. and in editor - the very wall to which I've applied second texture - becomes not completely bright - but its two vertexes become ~70 percent bright and the other 2 - become ~30 percent bright. what i do wrong?

And one more...

I know were bug reports go - and in XP when i select cubes and perform light calculation it offers me during program crush to send bug report - in the file it contains all info related to crush. Should i send it to your email adress, Diedel?
Sirius
Posts: 1990
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 10:29 pm
Location: Bellevue, WA
Contact:

Re: Questions from the beginer

Postby Sirius » Mon Mar 07, 2011 6:08 pm

If it's actually creating a crash dump, attach that to the sf.net bug report. If I recall correctly, clicking "Send Information" will not do anything but send the crash report off to Microsoft and I'm not sure they have a habit of forwarding these things to third parties.

The 70/30 thing may not be incorrect - it depends on the light texture. Different textures are pre-set to have different brightnesses, and this one might not be enough for 100 everywhere.

Return to “DLE-XP Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest