Page 1 of 1

Hi-RES Textures

Posted: Sat Sep 29, 2007 2:14 pm
by -JoFFa-
hello there!

Somehow the textures which i make using my PH 5.0 - wont display in d2X-XL.
how come?

anyone got the idea of how to make them visible? what options required to do?

Posted: Sat Sep 29, 2007 2:30 pm
by karx11erx
Hi Joffa,

nice to see you here. :)

Did you give them proper names?

TGA, 24/32 bit, uncompressed?

Posted: Sat Sep 29, 2007 10:58 pm
by -JoFFa-
karx11erx wrote:Hi Joffa,

nice to see you here. :)

Did you give them proper names?

TGA, 24/32 bit, uncompressed?



Thanks - I'm actually glad that you have forum now - no offense but on sf things been a little long...

Posted: Sat Sep 29, 2007 11:05 pm
by -JoFFa-
yup... problem persists...although i do all things and make tga 32 bit - and dle-xp shows it - the d2x-xl - wont... what are the steps - how you make them?

Posted: Sat Sep 29, 2007 11:19 pm
by MetalBeast
The texture size should be 512x512 pixel, 24bit uncompressed TGA

Posted: Sun Sep 30, 2007 2:06 am
by Sirius
The texture size doesn't matter, but the colour depth/compression settings do.

Edit: I think there may be restrictions on aspect ratio though... in general it's a bad idea not to make it square. W > H might work, but might not; H > W is used for animated textures rather than other stuff.

Posted: Sun Sep 30, 2007 5:54 am
by -JoFFa-
Zombie999 wrote:The texture size should be 512x512 pixel, 24bit uncompressed TGA



Ok...well it worked for the D2x-xl - so basicaly topic solved - but now i have another pronblem - in dlexp in 3d window - when i made white background with several red lines on it as a test and put that in level - i could't see the white color on a wall of a cube - only red lines on black istead of white - while in d2x-xl - texture was correctly shown...

Posted: Sun Sep 30, 2007 7:24 am
by karx11erx
DLE-XP does not always properly display hires textures. Gotta live with it. ;)

Posted: Sun Sep 30, 2007 9:36 am
by Sirius
That's not something you can easily deal with either, is it?

From what I can tell the rendering engine in DLE-XP is basically a port of the DMB2 code and not much more, thus no OpenGL or anything easily tweakable like that?

Posted: Sun Sep 30, 2007 11:35 am
by karx11erx
Exactly.

Posted: Sun Sep 30, 2007 7:19 pm
by -JoFFa-
Thanks guys... :D