No @@$%%!!!&&!11!@@@ Internet for three $$§%%!!@@!!33 weeks!

All non Descent related stuff. Keep it civilized, this is not an NHB area.
User avatar
karx11erx
D2X-XL Master
D2X-XL Master
Posts: 8111
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 8:48 pm
Location: Wilferdingen, Germany
Contact:

No @@$%%!!!&&!11!@@@ Internet for three $$§%%!!@@!!33 weeks!

Postby karx11erx » Mon Jul 28, 2014 11:30 am

A couple of weeks ago, the Deutsche Telekom changed the DSL connection type of the entire region where I live from Annex-B to Annex-J. Since then, my DSL connection started to have problems: Average ping was worse than before, and I noticed regular connection timeouts. So the Deutsche Telekom was told to change my DSL connection back to Annex-B. That was done on Thu Jul 8th. Since then, my DSL connection was broken. The Telekom technician who was announced to appear on Friday Jul 11 to check the issue didn't show up. My ISP's (1und1 Internet AG) support desk lied to me about their possibilities to escalate the issue. A week later I was told that the problem simply was a sales issue: Somebody at the Deutsche Telekom had to acknowledge my change back to Annex-B. The Deutsche Telekom told us that unfortunately the required database was broken and needed to be rebuilt, which would take 24 hours. I took 4 or 5 days. Finally the change was acknowledged. My internet connection remained broken. I had a DSL sync signal, but way too low data rates on it, and no IP protocol. Today, a Technician of the Deutsche Telekom finally appeared, checked my DSL for about three minutes, determined that it was infact a problem at the DSLAM I had been connected to, and left after an unpleasant dispute with me about the Deutsche Telekom's quality of service.

Anyway, 30 minutes later my DSL connection was back to full operation.

It took the Deutsche Telekom three bloody weeks for something that should have taken 30 minutes right away.

Interestingly the Deutsche Telekom is forced by law to support 3rd party vendors like the 1und1 Internet AG and rent their lines to them. They aren't really interested in dealing with them, or their customers.

Will I ever, ever go back to the Deutsche Telekom?

If I will ever have such problems again, I will rather spent 1000 Euro for a cable TV connection line and have 100 mpbs highspeed internet thereafter.

:rage:
User avatar
Pumo
D2X-XL Expert
D2X-XL Expert
Posts: 1426
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 9:28 pm
Location: Here :)
Contact:

Re: No @@$%%!!!&&!11!@@@ Internet for three $$§%%!!@@!!33 we

Postby Pumo » Mon Jul 28, 2014 4:52 pm

I don't have any experience with DSL services, as I jumped from old dial-up (more than ten years ago) to Cable and never got the chance to use DSL.
Although it has its problems, I've been using Cable for all these years with no important issues.
Yeah, there are down times every now and then, but service has improved a lot and now it's a bit uncommon to have such issues.

And I thought customer service would be MUCH, much better on Germany than here on Mexico, but you see, humans are humans everywhere. :P
[Pumo software main website] - Pumo Mines current progress: 60%
-SYSTEM SPECS-
CPU: Intel Core i3 2120 3.30 GHz
RAM: 8GB DDR3 1333MHZ
SSD: Kingston SSDNow V300, 240GB
HDD: Seagate 1TB 7200RPM SATA
External HDD: Seagate Backup Plus Slim 1TB 5400RPM
Video: nVidia GeForce GTX 1050 Ti OC 4GB
Sound: RealTek High Definition Audio
Display 1: HP 2311 23" 1080p HD LED Monitor
Display 2: Dell 19" 1440x900 TFT Monitor
OS: Windows 10 64-bits
User avatar
Aus-RED-5
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1490
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 9:02 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Re: No @@$%%!!!&&!11!@@@ Internet for three $$§%%!!@@!!33 we

Postby Aus-RED-5 » Tue Jul 29, 2014 12:42 pm

When I lived in Texas. I went from dial up to cable as well. The change-over happened in '98 when cable internet was new!
Loved it, but when the cable company decided to put a special deals out to get more people on board..... then that's when it went to crap!
At that time - the more people using the same network meant slow downs in speed! :no:

Fast forward to life in Australia 2000... it's BACK to dial up again!?!?!?! :horror:

Then 2003 to 2006 - FINALLY ADSL comes to town!!

From 2007 to current (2014) I've been on ADSL2.
Image

When comparing to American internet speeds (100+mb a sec d/l w/ upload seeps 10+mb).

The above image ^^^ is ssslllloooowwwww down under!.... :vomit:
Australia needs to hurry up already and get with the times!!! :wallbash:
----System Specs----
Case: Corsair Obsidian 650D Black
Motherboard: ASUS Sabertooth X58
CPU: Intel Core i7 960 3.20ghz
Heat Sink: Corsair H100 CPU Water Cooler
Memory: Corsair 6GB (3 x 2048mb) DDR3 1600 Dominator (PC12800 - TR3X6G1600C8D)
Video Card: ATi SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 7970 3GB GDDR5 OC Edition
Hard Drives: SSD Corsair Force Series 3 F120 120GB & WD5003ABYX Enterprise RE4 500GB
Media Player: LG BH10LS30 BluRay Burner
Power Supply: Corsair HX-850
OS: Windows 7 Pro 64Bit
Monitor: Benq XL2420T LED
Sirius
Posts: 1987
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 10:29 pm
Location: Bellevue, WA
Contact:

Re: No @@$%%!!!&&!11!@@@ Internet for three $$§%%!!@@!!33 we

Postby Sirius » Wed Jul 30, 2014 8:13 am

That's pretty much equivalent to the ADSL (1, not 2) we got in New Zealand in 1999. Of course, you probably aren't paying 20c/MB for it, at least... they reserve that for data roaming charges (which, hilariously, are exactly that expensive most of the time... it's insane).

I'd figured ADSL2 would at least reach double digits. Oh well. Maybe it's like "4G", where apparently it's cheaper to lobby the ITU to change the definition of the term than to upgrade your infrastructure...
User avatar
karx11erx
D2X-XL Master
D2X-XL Master
Posts: 8111
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 8:48 pm
Location: Wilferdingen, Germany
Contact:

Re: No @@$%%!!!&&!11!@@@ Internet for three $$§%%!!@@!!33 we

Postby karx11erx » Wed Jul 30, 2014 8:36 am

I am having 16 Mbps down and 1.2 Mbps up on my ADSL2+ line here. That is only because the next DSLAM is too far away for better data rates. A bit closer to the next bigger city, and I could have VDSL with 50 Mpbs down and a nice upload data rate. :/
User avatar
Aus-RED-5
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1490
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 9:02 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Re: No @@$%%!!!&&!11!@@@ Internet for three $$§%%!!@@!!33 we

Postby Aus-RED-5 » Wed Jul 30, 2014 2:02 pm

hummm.... I spoke too soon!

http://www.tpg.com.au/nbn/plans

FINALLY! :laola:

Now I have to wait for it to available in my area! DOH! :sweat:
----System Specs----
Case: Corsair Obsidian 650D Black
Motherboard: ASUS Sabertooth X58
CPU: Intel Core i7 960 3.20ghz
Heat Sink: Corsair H100 CPU Water Cooler
Memory: Corsair 6GB (3 x 2048mb) DDR3 1600 Dominator (PC12800 - TR3X6G1600C8D)
Video Card: ATi SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 7970 3GB GDDR5 OC Edition
Hard Drives: SSD Corsair Force Series 3 F120 120GB & WD5003ABYX Enterprise RE4 500GB
Media Player: LG BH10LS30 BluRay Burner
Power Supply: Corsair HX-850
OS: Windows 7 Pro 64Bit
Monitor: Benq XL2420T LED
User avatar
Pumo
D2X-XL Expert
D2X-XL Expert
Posts: 1426
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 9:28 pm
Location: Here :)
Contact:

Re: No @@$%%!!!&&!11!@@@ Internet for three $$§%%!!@@!!33 we

Postby Pumo » Wed Jul 30, 2014 4:23 pm

Not too different to Diedel's speed on my side, but I get a bit better upload rate with my Cable service:

Image
[Pumo software main website] - Pumo Mines current progress: 60%
-SYSTEM SPECS-
CPU: Intel Core i3 2120 3.30 GHz
RAM: 8GB DDR3 1333MHZ
SSD: Kingston SSDNow V300, 240GB
HDD: Seagate 1TB 7200RPM SATA
External HDD: Seagate Backup Plus Slim 1TB 5400RPM
Video: nVidia GeForce GTX 1050 Ti OC 4GB
Sound: RealTek High Definition Audio
Display 1: HP 2311 23" 1080p HD LED Monitor
Display 2: Dell 19" 1440x900 TFT Monitor
OS: Windows 10 64-bits
User avatar
Weyrman
D2X-XL Expert
D2X-XL Expert
Posts: 579
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 7:47 pm
Location: Brisbane Australia
Contact:

Re: No @@$%%!!!&&!11!@@@ Internet for three $$§%%!!@@!!33 we

Postby Weyrman » Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:48 am

I will now consider myself privileged with my fibre 100/40 Mbps iinet connection in Brisbane :clap: :away:

Image
-SYSTEM SPECS-
MBoard:"GigaByte Z68X-UD3H-B3" Motherboard
CPU: Intel i7 E2600 3.40GHz
RAM: 8GB DDR3 2133MHZ
HD: WDC 10EARX 1TB SATA
Video: GigaByte 1G ATI 4890
Monitor: Asus VS428 LCD 24"
Sound: Onboard - now with connected 5.1 sound system
OS: Windows 7 x64 Home Premium
User avatar
Aus-RED-5
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1490
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 9:02 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Re: No @@$%%!!!&&!11!@@@ Internet for three $$§%%!!@@!!33 we

Postby Aus-RED-5 » Thu Jul 31, 2014 1:18 pm

Yeah, that what I'm going for!

Weyrman - is your data plan caped?
----System Specs----
Case: Corsair Obsidian 650D Black
Motherboard: ASUS Sabertooth X58
CPU: Intel Core i7 960 3.20ghz
Heat Sink: Corsair H100 CPU Water Cooler
Memory: Corsair 6GB (3 x 2048mb) DDR3 1600 Dominator (PC12800 - TR3X6G1600C8D)
Video Card: ATi SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 7970 3GB GDDR5 OC Edition
Hard Drives: SSD Corsair Force Series 3 F120 120GB & WD5003ABYX Enterprise RE4 500GB
Media Player: LG BH10LS30 BluRay Burner
Power Supply: Corsair HX-850
OS: Windows 7 Pro 64Bit
Monitor: Benq XL2420T LED
User avatar
Weyrman
D2X-XL Expert
D2X-XL Expert
Posts: 579
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 7:47 pm
Location: Brisbane Australia
Contact:

Re: No @@$%%!!!&&!11!@@@ Internet for three $$§%%!!@@!!33 we

Postby Weyrman » Thu Jul 31, 2014 9:06 pm

100GB + 100GB and then throttled but never cutoff and no additional fees

IInet terms
Both uploads and downloads count towards your monthly quota.
If you exceed your quota, your download and upload speeds are shaped for the remainder of your billing month.
NBN fibre/fixed wireless plans are shaped to 256/256 kbps once quota has been exceeded.
-SYSTEM SPECS-
MBoard:"GigaByte Z68X-UD3H-B3" Motherboard
CPU: Intel i7 E2600 3.40GHz
RAM: 8GB DDR3 2133MHZ
HD: WDC 10EARX 1TB SATA
Video: GigaByte 1G ATI 4890
Monitor: Asus VS428 LCD 24"
Sound: Onboard - now with connected 5.1 sound system
OS: Windows 7 x64 Home Premium

Return to “Off Topic”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest