Why does d2x-xl run with full prcessor load?

All other topics around Descent and D2X-XL

Moderators: Frustikus, simX, Aus-RED-5

Gunboat Diplomat
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 2:51 am

Why does d2x-xl run with full prcessor load?

Postby Gunboat Diplomat » Sat Feb 13, 2010 10:33 am

If there's a more appropriate forum for this sort of question, please point me there!

Why does d2x-xl run with a full processor load? This is especially puzzling since I have a dual core system. Does that mean that there are two busy loops in two different threads in the game? What's going on here? I'd greatly appreciate it if someone could answer this question.

Thank you...
Gunboat Diplomat
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 2:51 am

Postby Gunboat Diplomat » Sat Feb 13, 2010 10:56 am

Okay, I just read this thread so it appears this question was asked and answered and not too long ago, even. It still seems weird that there's a full load on both cores unless the game works really hard to parallelize any processing it can...

However, I do have another concern now. Setting the framerate cap in the render settings doesn't seem to do anything. The game still runs at 60 fps (or tries!) and when I go back to the setting, it's set back to the default, 60 fps. Does this happen for anyone else?

Thank you...
User avatar
ApEk
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 9:58 pm
Contact:

Postby ApEk » Sun Feb 14, 2010 8:19 pm

It is doing the same thing for me too, full cpu load all the time, and the inability to change the framecap. Other than that, d2x is absolutely amazing!
"Your lack of pointers disturbs me." || Skype - ApEk_v2 || Steam - ApEk ||
http://67.234.99.244/mediawiki/index.php/Main_Page
User avatar
Yokelassence
Posts: 974
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 1:54 am
Location: That country full of sheep.

Postby Yokelassence » Sun Feb 14, 2010 10:43 pm

Why is this a surprise? Every game I have ever played in my life has always used 100% of the processor when running. Games need all the resources they can get, this includes all your processor cores unless you assign an affinity.
-Core i5 4690 3.5Ghz--GTX 1070 8GB--16GB DDR3 800--Z97 Extreme4--512GB SSD/2TB HDD--Zalman Z11 case-

Old PC that no longer turns on. May it R.I.P:
-Core 2 Duo E8500 3.2Ghz--HD4850 512MB--4GB DDR2-800--Gigabyte EP45-DS3L--640GB Storage--Antec 300 Case-
User avatar
ApEk
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 9:58 pm
Contact:

Postby ApEk » Sun Feb 14, 2010 10:53 pm

Cellfactor (the physx game) didn't even run at 100% all the time.
"Your lack of pointers disturbs me." || Skype - ApEk_v2 || Steam - ApEk ||

http://67.234.99.244/mediawiki/index.php/Main_Page
User avatar
karx11erx
D2X-XL Master
D2X-XL Master
Posts: 8112
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 8:48 pm
Location: Wilferdingen, Germany
Contact:

Postby karx11erx » Sun Feb 14, 2010 11:30 pm

ApEk,

feel free to grab the D2X-XL source code and make it better. ;)
User avatar
ApEk
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 9:58 pm
Contact:

Postby ApEk » Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:46 am

I wish, opengl and c++ is not my forte` :(

I'm not bashing your code, I respect the fact you ported descent2 from c to c++ and added all kinds of kickass opengl stuff.
And this is not a complaint, I'm just poking you for information on your thoughts that's all.
"Your lack of pointers disturbs me." || Skype - ApEk_v2 || Steam - ApEk ||

http://67.234.99.244/mediawiki/index.php/Main_Page
User avatar
Sykes
Posts: 1120
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 5:39 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Postby Sykes » Mon Feb 15, 2010 2:42 am

It's using 100% simply because it's making the most of your computer. Any program that is not running at full potential and is taking less than 100% of your CPU load is a very poorly coded program.

Your questions are answered in that other thread, and coincidentally enough, by me. 100% CPU usage is GOOD, that is a GOOD thing. That means your processor is being used. Why pay $30 extra for 0.2 more GHz if you don't even want to use 100% of your processor? Do you plan on multitasking while playing this game?

Take a look at this picture.

http://img23.imageshack.us/img23/9343/descentpyramidnew.jpg

The first two screens were done on a 2.0GHz dual core AMD processor with a 7600 GT and 2GB of RAM. The third screen was on a 3.4 GHz single core with a Quadros 295 and 8 GB of RAM. With 6 copies of the game on the first computer, and 8 on the second, every one of them ran with 60 FPS (vsync) when they were in focus and my CPU was floored at 100%. At the same time, if I play a single D2X-XL copy on either machine, I get 60 FPS as well, and 100% CPU usage. This is the sign of extremely optimized code.
User avatar
ApEk
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 9:58 pm
Contact:

Postby ApEk » Mon Feb 15, 2010 3:04 am

I've already read the other thread, this thread was about the framecap not working properly, I was not the reason it got changed to why the cpu is maxed.
And I'd rather not talk about the maxed out cpu anymore, because of the history of this topic. So back to the framecap?
"Your lack of pointers disturbs me." || Skype - ApEk_v2 || Steam - ApEk ||

http://67.234.99.244/mediawiki/index.php/Main_Page
User avatar
Sykes
Posts: 1120
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 5:39 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Postby Sykes » Mon Feb 15, 2010 3:06 am

It can't be a problem with the code, 'cause I've hit over 100. If you don't have Vsync enabled in-game, then check your driver contrrols. Something else might be forcing Vsync.
User avatar
ApEk
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 9:58 pm
Contact:

Postby ApEk » Mon Feb 15, 2010 3:35 am

Come to think of it I haven't updated my gpu driver in a while. Switched to vsync via driver, and the max framerate i get is 75, maxes out my gpu.
Massive fps drop when i fire anything with basic light trails, fps almost cut in half. (crappy hd2400)
If framecap is off, my max fps is 180, and drops to 65 when i fire anything with basic light trails.

The problem isn't that the framecap works (it does), it just doesn't like to be adjusted other than vsync, off, and 60.
I tried setting the framecap to 30, and it seems to try to go down (drops to 40), but then goes back to 60.
"Your lack of pointers disturbs me." || Skype - ApEk_v2 || Steam - ApEk ||

http://67.234.99.244/mediawiki/index.php/Main_Page
Sirius
Posts: 1990
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 10:29 pm
Location: Bellevue, WA
Contact:

Postby Sirius » Mon Feb 15, 2010 4:00 am

If your framecap is set below the maximum your system can handle, I would actually expect a few CPU cycles to be spare. Actually I think that's what I see with D2X-XL, too...

There's also the question of whether a game is CPU or GPU limited. XL is probably heavier on the GPU side at higher detail settings.
User avatar
Sykes
Posts: 1120
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 5:39 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Postby Sykes » Mon Feb 15, 2010 4:12 am

What you are experiencing is, indeed, a GPU limit. I wasn't able to play with smoke, coronas, or flashy effects when I had my 7600 GT.
Ben K
Posts: 452
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 7:21 am
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Postby Ben K » Mon Feb 15, 2010 6:17 am

Sykes wrote:Do you plan on multitasking while playing this game?


Yes!

Other programs don't use all of your CPU because they don't need all of your CPU. I'd be quite surprised if D2X-XL needs all of mine.

- Checked. It sits on 50%, though I do have Guild Wars open, and D2X-XL is running really slow.
User avatar
karx11erx
D2X-XL Master
D2X-XL Master
Posts: 8112
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 8:48 pm
Location: Wilferdingen, Germany
Contact:

Postby karx11erx » Mon Feb 15, 2010 8:10 am

Basic light trails shouldn't burden your system much. They're only a single quad.

Return to “General Discussions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests