Guidebot in Descent 1

All other topics around Descent and D2X-XL

Moderators: Frustikus, simX, Aus-RED-5

IMarvinTPA
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 5:49 pm

Guidebot in Descent 1

Postby IMarvinTPA » Sat May 14, 2011 12:44 am

I remember playing a while back and being able to spawn a guide bot in D1. I can't remember how to do this now. Is it still possible?

For wishful thinking, it would be fun to take control of the guide bot and use him as a scout (sorta like a guided missile with no boom and the ability to hover.) At the very least, I wish I could give him the command to stay ahead of me on the way to the goal and NOT return unless I get twice the target distance away from him.

Thanks,
Andy
User avatar
karx11erx
D2X-XL Master
D2X-XL Master
Posts: 8112
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 8:48 pm
Location: Wilferdingen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Guidebot in Descent 1

Postby karx11erx » Sat May 14, 2011 1:06 am

See my nice, friendly colored, meaningful signature below.
IMarvinTPA
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 5:49 pm

Re: Guidebot in Descent 1

Postby IMarvinTPA » Sat May 14, 2011 1:34 am

I pushed a touchy button. Sorry.

I think I was in the wrong forum section for the question portion. I claim carelessness on my part in thinking I was somewhere else at the time. If it is something else, your hint is too general. "Guide bot" as key words failed me in the forum search. Google also failed me. When I last tried to cheat and spawn him, I got a shield/energy hit and no bot.

IMarv
User avatar
Pumo
D2X-XL Expert
D2X-XL Expert
Posts: 1437
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 9:28 pm
Location: Here :)
Contact:

Re: Guidebot in Descent 1

Postby Pumo » Sat May 14, 2011 1:39 am

I think (IIRC) that you can summon the guide-bot even on D1 missions with shift+F4 (or alt+F4, can't remember exactly).
[Pumo software main website] - Pumo Mines current progress: 60%
-SYSTEM SPECS-
CPU: Intel Core i7 4790 3.6 GHz (4 GHz Turbo)
RAM: 16GB DDR3 1333MHZ
SSD: Kingston SSDNow V300, 240GB
HDD: Seagate 1TB 7200RPM SATA
External HDD: Seagate Backup Plus Slim 1TB 5400RPM
Video: nVidia GeForce GTX 1050 Ti OC 4GB
Sound: RealTek High Definition Audio
Display 1: LG 24M38H 24" 1080p HD LED Monitor
Display 2: Dell 19" 1440x900 TFT Monitor
OS: Windows 10 64-bits
IMarvinTPA
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 5:49 pm

Re: Guidebot in Descent 1

Postby IMarvinTPA » Sat May 14, 2011 1:47 am

No combination of alt/ctrl/shift-f4 nor regular 4 spawned the bot. (but I did get a message saying none was in the mine with shift-4.)

IMarv
User avatar
Aus-RED-5
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1490
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 9:02 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Re: Guidebot in Descent 1

Postby Aus-RED-5 » Sat May 14, 2011 7:26 am

IMarvinTPA wrote:... your hint is too general....


Your "wishful thinking" and "it would be fun" comment seems to suggest a feature request.

One of the links in Karx11erx's signature would lead you to where to submit such a request. ;)
----System Specs----
Case: Corsair Obsidian 650D Black
Motherboard: ASUS Sabertooth X58
CPU: Intel Core i7 960 3.20ghz
Heat Sink: Corsair H100 CPU Water Cooler
Memory: Corsair 6GB (3 x 2048mb) DDR3 1600 Dominator (PC12800 - TR3X6G1600C8D)
Video Card: ATi SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 7970 3GB GDDR5 OC Edition
Hard Drives: SSD Corsair Force Series 3 F120 120GB & WD5003ABYX Enterprise RE4 500GB
Media Player: LG BH10LS30 BluRay Burner
Power Supply: Corsair HX-850
OS: Windows 7 Pro 64Bit
Monitor: Benq XL2420T LED
User avatar
Alter-Fox
Posts: 1132
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 7:29 pm
Location: some other reality

Re: Guidebot in Descent 1

Postby Alter-Fox » Sun May 15, 2011 5:28 am

In fact, it's possible in D2 missions if there's no guidebot in the mine. You can spawn it with shift-F4

I never tried it in D1 levels, but I don't think it's possible. Though the thought of D1 level 27 with a guidebot and 'gowingnut' makes me grin.
Personally I'd love to be able to use the D2 equipment and weapons in D1 levels as built-in equipment... but I don't think that will happen either.
We live in a universe... It's distracting
=========================================================
beware of ounce
User avatar
Obi-Wan Kenobi
Posts: 262
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 9:56 pm
Location: Tatooine
Contact:

Re: Guidebot in Descent 1

Postby Obi-Wan Kenobi » Fri May 20, 2011 4:32 pm

Yer Alter-Fox has a point , the Guide Bot was not made to be supported in D1, although it might be able to mod it in there, since I have seen many wonderful things being modded with this D2X-XL project :) take them Shield Generator's Sirius made in Anthology, wonderful idea! And yes I am playing this map again with the latest build it's just loaded with awesomesaus xD
Firefox: 1CPU 8 Core OpteronMP 6140 D1, 32GB PC3-12800 ECC Reg HP/Micron Server Ram, Supermicro H8SGL-B/F, Sapphire Nitro+ RX 580 SE 8GB GDDR5
Blue-Leader: 2CPU 6 Core OpteronDP 2435 D0, 32GB PC2-6400 ECC Reg Kingston Value Ram, Supermicro H8DAE-2, Sapphire Nitro OC+ R9 Fury 4GB HBM
Valkyrie: 2CPU 12 Core OpteronMP 6180 SE D1, 48GB PC3-12800 ECC Reg HP/Hynix & Samsung, Supermicro H8DG6-F, Sapphire Nitro RX Vega 64 LE 2.0 8GB HBM2
IMarvinTPA
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 5:49 pm

Re: Guidebot in Descent 1

Postby IMarvinTPA » Sat May 21, 2011 1:08 pm

I found the "problem:"
v1.14.3

* Fixed: It could happen that instead of proximity mines, smoke grenades were used in singleplayer
* Fixed: The guidebot could be accessed in Descent 1 missions

Time to add a feature request (in source forge): "Guide Bot in Descent 1" Maybe a built-in equipment option that allows the deployment of the guidebot in D1 if you have both in the same directory.

IMarv
Sirius
Posts: 1990
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 10:29 pm
Location: Bellevue, WA
Contact:

Re: Guidebot in Descent 1

Postby Sirius » Sat May 21, 2011 7:41 pm

Somehow I don't know if I like this idea too much :|
User avatar
karx11erx
D2X-XL Master
D2X-XL Master
Posts: 8112
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 8:48 pm
Location: Wilferdingen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Guidebot in Descent 1

Postby karx11erx » Sat May 21, 2011 8:56 pm

X2
darklord42
Posts: 254
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 3:01 am
Contact:

Re: Guidebot in Descent 1

Postby darklord42 » Tue May 24, 2011 1:25 pm

Well most of us aren't fans of the guidebot anyway. I know I always leave him. :wink:
Macbook Pro 6,2
Mac OS. 10.9.3
2.8 GHz Intel i7
8 GB RAM
GeForce GT 340M 512mb/Intel HD Graphics
Intel HD Audio
User avatar
Alter-Fox
Posts: 1132
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 7:29 pm
Location: some other reality

Re: Guidebot in Descent 1

Postby Alter-Fox » Tue May 24, 2011 3:16 pm

I don't use the guidebot in D2... I like finding my way around a mine by myself. I'll only use it if I have no other option.
When I build maps I only put one in if the route is very unintuitive.

In D3... I hate it even more because I have to use it so much (even if only to look at the command list to see the next objective). At least calling it back into the ship is more useful than making it stay away... but not if I'm trying to use my energy to shield converter and I have the guidebot selected in my inventory instead... :rant:

I have to give him credit though... he does put out fires. And the guardian and wingnut powerups are useful (guardian makes the guidebot into an extra gun for your ship - QUAD FUSION WITH THE MAGNUM! :P)

I like the Gowingnut code in D2 better though...
We live in a universe... It's distracting
=========================================================
beware of ounce
TheZealotQ
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 7:31 am
Location: Eastern Standard Time
Contact:

Re: Guidebot in Descent 1

Postby TheZealotQ » Wed May 25, 2011 6:28 am

Maybe I'm just lazy, but I like having the guidebot show me where to go. I like not being forced to memorize all the layouts of the mines, especially when I am trying to roll, trichord, and spin around like mad. Wherever I end up, guidebot will point the way. I always use the guidebot to point me to the energy center as my First destination in a mine because I tend to use primaries as much as possible. Before I exit a mine I use the guidebot to scoop up any powerups I've missed or overlooked, so that I can always have a full stock of missiles even though I dont use them that much. And then, when I am low on shields, I am glad to have the guidebot point the way to the nearest shields and excess energy for shield-transfers. Oh yeah, guidebot helps me find the exit despite the shaking of the mine. Now if only it would be a decoy and detonate incoming flash missiles...

Because of the way I play, I backtrack a great deal, making the guidebot invaluable. I would have access to him at all times, even in descent 1, if I had my way, built into the ship exactly like descent 3. I would have a HUD icon and have the guidebot listed as equipment, and accessible from the equipment menu. Descent 3's system is the best compromise, because it's there when I need it, and not there when I don't. You could put the guidebot away when you are in combat (or use him as a guided missile to look around), then only call it out when you needed something (like those shields a few areas back). The guidebot's annoying "beep beep beep" like an alarm clock when it is hammering against a door that it cannot find the key for is thereby disabled by putting it away.

I really thought karx11x would go for that feature request, because really "going into the ship" = disappears. So really, adding a "enter ship command" would essentially be a command to kill/destroy the guidebot - perfect for someone who hates the guidebot. Essentially, it would remove the guidebot from the mine if ever released. "Initiating guidebot self-destruct cycle." But he didn't like that idea.

{[( now maybe if I were to write the code myself... )]}
Sirius
Posts: 1990
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 10:29 pm
Location: Bellevue, WA
Contact:

Re: Guidebot in Descent 1

Postby Sirius » Wed May 25, 2011 7:18 am

Standard OSS retort :) "Where's the patch?!?"

Return to “General Discussions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests