D2X-XL: Switch From WinXP to Win7

Install & setup problems, application questions and other nasty things ;)

Moderators: Frustikus, simX, Aus-RED-5

User avatar
Kaizerwolf
Posts: 390
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 4:37 pm

D2X-XL: Switch From WinXP to Win7

Postby Kaizerwolf » Sun Apr 04, 2010 4:06 pm

Well, here's the deal: I just switched from my old computer (WinXP) to a brand new system (with Win7). I'm in the process of getting used to Windows 7, and I've run into a problem with the newest version of D2X-XL. I've got it installed, did everything that the extractor wanted me to. D2X-XL loads fine, it loads the menus and the pilot files fine. But, when I go to load a new mission or load a saved game, i get an error message saying that the .rl2 or .hog file cant be found.

Here is the funny thing; it is only for missions that I've added. The basic stuff (Counterstrike, whatever D1 is called, Vertigo) they all load fine. But, for example, Dimensional Intersect doesn't open.

Any help with this topic would be really appreciated!
What if, in 30 years, you're considered for the highest office in the land and get denied because some sneak found that misspelled post of yours about how "Nickledon" sucked and ruins your political career by exposing it?- poxpower
User avatar
Weyrman
D2X-XL Expert
D2X-XL Expert
Posts: 579
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 7:47 pm
Location: Brisbane Australia
Contact:

Postby Weyrman » Sun Apr 04, 2010 11:13 pm

The original mission files are moved to the data folder but all other missions need to go into a "missions" folder which is not created by default. If you have put them in the data folder with the other missions then they do not show.

Hope this helps with your problem. :D
-SYSTEM SPECS-
MBoard:"GigaByte Z68X-UD3H-B3" Motherboard
CPU: Intel i7 E2600 3.40GHz
RAM: 8GB DDR3 2133MHZ
HD: WDC 10EARX 1TB SATA
Video: GigaByte 1G ATI 4890
Monitor: Asus VS428 LCD 24"
Sound: Onboard - now with connected 5.1 sound system
OS: Windows 7 x64 Home Premium
User avatar
Sykes
Posts: 1120
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 5:39 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Postby Sykes » Mon Apr 05, 2010 12:44 am

I've been getting this error recently (1.15.46 on up) as well and I had never seen it before. What version of D2X-XL did you use before switching to Windows 7? And is this only for your missions, or any custom mission?
User avatar
Kaizerwolf
Posts: 390
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 4:37 pm

Postby Kaizerwolf » Mon Apr 05, 2010 1:42 am

Sykes: I was using 1.14.something, and everything worked then. I'm now using the most recent version. It is not just for my missions, it is for all custom/downloaded missions.

Weyrman: The files are in a missions folder, they always have been.
What if, in 30 years, you're considered for the highest office in the land and get denied because some sneak found that misspelled post of yours about how "Nickledon" sucked and ruins your political career by exposing it?- poxpower
User avatar
Weyrman
D2X-XL Expert
D2X-XL Expert
Posts: 579
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 7:47 pm
Location: Brisbane Australia
Contact:

Postby Weyrman » Mon Apr 05, 2010 2:21 am

no idea then. I'm running 1.151.52 with win7 x64 with no problems at all.
-SYSTEM SPECS-
MBoard:"GigaByte Z68X-UD3H-B3" Motherboard
CPU: Intel i7 E2600 3.40GHz
RAM: 8GB DDR3 2133MHZ
HD: WDC 10EARX 1TB SATA
Video: GigaByte 1G ATI 4890
Monitor: Asus VS428 LCD 24"
Sound: Onboard - now with connected 5.1 sound system
OS: Windows 7 x64 Home Premium
User avatar
karx11erx
D2X-XL Master
D2X-XL Master
Posts: 8112
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 8:48 pm
Location: Wilferdingen, Germany
Contact:

Postby karx11erx » Mon Apr 05, 2010 8:19 am

No access rights to that folder?
User avatar
pokeman7452
Posts: 589
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 2:33 pm
Location: Northern VA, USA

Postby pokeman7452 » Mon Apr 05, 2010 11:55 am

Sykes? Back? Posting? WTFFTW?

karx11erx wrote:No access rights to that folder?
That's what I was thinking. Make sure you have read/write privileges, or run d2x-xl.exe with administrator rights (right click->"Run as administrator").
Laptop: (outdated)——————————————————————————————Desktop:
ASUS G72GXBBCDDDHLMPPPRTVWcdeefghimnoorruyz2 5 6 8000+-./()Newegged
Core 2 Duo (2.5Ghz)ABBDDGHLMPPPRSSTUVWXcdefgimnry6 78000+-/i5 3570K (4.0-4.7ghz)
6GB DDR2ABCDGHLMPPPSSTUVWXcdeefghimnoorruyz2 5 7 8000+-./()16GB DDR3
Geforce GTX 260MABBCDDDHLPPPRSSUVWdghimnoruyz2 5 7800+-./()GTX650Ti
80GB + 500GB HDDACDLMPPPRSSTUVWXcdeefghimnoorruyz2 267-./()2X500GB in RAID0 + 1TB
DL DVD+-RWABBCGGHMPPPSSTUXcdeefghimnoorruyz2 2 5 678000./()52X CD-R | HD DVD/Blu-Ray, DL DVD+-RW + LS
Win 7 Home Pre/XP ProABBCDDDGGLMRSSTUVcdfghuyz22568000+-.()Win 7 Pro/XP Pro
User avatar
Sykes
Posts: 1120
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 5:39 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Postby Sykes » Mon Apr 05, 2010 3:08 pm

That is a common problem. If what Pokeman said doesn't work, it could be an issue with a recent version because upgrading from 1.14 is quite a step. As stated, I've been getting this error too, and I've never seen it before.
User avatar
Kaizerwolf
Posts: 390
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 4:37 pm

Postby Kaizerwolf » Mon Apr 05, 2010 9:04 pm

karx11erx wrote:No access rights to that folder?


No, I think I have access rights, I can get into the folder and copy the files around and such.

Pokeman: I tried D2X-XL running with Admin Rights, same problem.
What if, in 30 years, you're considered for the highest office in the land and get denied because some sneak found that misspelled post of yours about how "Nickledon" sucked and ruins your political career by exposing it?- poxpower
User avatar
Kaizerwolf
Posts: 390
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 4:37 pm

Postby Kaizerwolf » Sun Apr 11, 2010 4:17 pm

New problem; it loads some of the levels now, but it just goes to a black or grey screen after that and then it freezes. Running 1.15.56 now.
What if, in 30 years, you're considered for the highest office in the land and get denied because some sneak found that misspelled post of yours about how "Nickledon" sucked and ruins your political career by exposing it?- poxpower
User avatar
karx11erx
D2X-XL Master
D2X-XL Master
Posts: 8112
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 8:48 pm
Location: Wilferdingen, Germany
Contact:

Postby karx11erx » Sun Apr 11, 2010 6:52 pm

I don't believe that this is a D2X-XL problem.
User avatar
Kaizerwolf
Posts: 390
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 4:37 pm

Postby Kaizerwolf » Sun Apr 11, 2010 7:14 pm

Yeah, you're probably correct there. I'll try a clean install at some point.
What if, in 30 years, you're considered for the highest office in the land and get denied because some sneak found that misspelled post of yours about how "Nickledon" sucked and ruins your political career by exposing it?- poxpower

Return to “D2X-XL Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests