Descent 1 - only 22 levels?

Install & setup problems, application questions and other nasty things ;)

Moderators: Frustikus, simX, Aus-RED-5

daninthemix
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon May 27, 2013 10:44 am

Descent 1 - only 22 levels?

Postby daninthemix » Mon May 27, 2013 10:47 am

I'm trying to get Descent 1 running nicely on D2X-XL (on that note - can anyone give me a list of settings to make it reasonably true to how it was originally?).

When I go to select my level/game, I can choose Descent 1 but it only lets me choose levels 1-22. I thought Descent had 30 levels. Does D2X not support them all, or am I missing files?

Thanks :)
User avatar
Weyrman
D2X-XL Expert
D2X-XL Expert
Posts: 579
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 7:47 pm
Location: Brisbane Australia
Contact:

Re: Descent 1 - only 22 levels?

Postby Weyrman » Mon May 27, 2013 11:54 am

I think the game will not let you start on a higher level than you have completed.
-SYSTEM SPECS-
MBoard:"GigaByte Z68X-UD3H-B3" Motherboard
CPU: Intel i7 E2600 3.40GHz
RAM: 8GB DDR3 2133MHZ
HD: WDC 10EARX 1TB SATA
Video: GigaByte 1G ATI 4890
Monitor: Asus VS428 LCD 24"
Sound: Onboard - now with connected 5.1 sound system
OS: Windows 7 x64 Home Premium
daninthemix
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon May 27, 2013 10:44 am

Re: Descent 1 - only 22 levels?

Postby daninthemix » Mon May 27, 2013 1:10 pm

Just used the poboys cheat to get past 22, so they're clearly all there.

Thanks
Sirius
Posts: 1990
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 10:29 pm
Location: Bellevue, WA
Contact:

Re: Descent 1 - only 22 levels?

Postby Sirius » Tue May 28, 2013 9:40 am

Cheats don't always advance the start level (they're supposed to never do that I suspect but there were some things the original code didn't check). Should see the start level range change after finishing level 22 normally.
User avatar
Alter-Fox
Posts: 1132
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 7:29 pm
Location: some other reality

Re: Descent 1 - only 22 levels?

Postby Alter-Fox » Tue May 28, 2013 2:54 pm

Yup. Vanilla D2, using freespace would advance the start level for you. In D1 it would if you saved your game and then reloaded it. I even found a really complicated exploit in D3 once -- warp, save game, log off computer completely, log back on, load game with a different profile, finish level (as far as I remember it was only possible in 1.3). The downside was that if you did that in D3 Retribution you'd for some reason lose the ability to unlock ships.
We live in a universe... It's distracting
=========================================================
beware of ounce

Return to “D2X-XL Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests