New mission in the works.

All about modding, mapping and modeling for D2X-XL

Moderators: Frustikus, simX, Aus-RED-5

User avatar
blarget#
Posts: 673
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2009 1:50 am

Postby blarget# » Sun Aug 23, 2009 1:48 am

WOW man my brother made a tree modle 5 years agbo for descent for this island map.
i wish he still had it.
Ben K
Posts: 452
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 7:21 am
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Postby Ben K » Sat Oct 24, 2009 7:33 pm

Restarting this in the beginning of November. Should have a few more hours in the day without studying a couple papers as well as a full-time job.
Ben K
Posts: 452
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 7:21 am
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Postby Ben K » Thu Mar 11, 2010 9:29 am

I've started to put the textures together. This room would work better with some tree props, though. Not going to attempt to make those out of cubes.

I'll put some fog planes in here as well to give it a bit of atmosphere. Then it needs more lights - which, again, I'm thinking of using props for.

Image
User avatar
blarget#
Posts: 673
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2009 1:50 am

Postby blarget# » Thu Mar 11, 2010 10:44 am

dude that is amazing! congrats on the work! :clap:
User avatar
Kaizerwolf
Posts: 390
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 4:37 pm

Postby Kaizerwolf » Thu Mar 11, 2010 1:13 pm

That's just... wow...

It's amazing. Really! I can't wait to play it!
What if, in 30 years, you're considered for the highest office in the land and get denied because some sneak found that misspelled post of yours about how "Nickledon" sucked and ruins your political career by exposing it?- poxpower
User avatar
karx11erx
D2X-XL Master
D2X-XL Master
Posts: 8112
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 8:48 pm
Location: Wilferdingen, Germany
Contact:

Postby karx11erx » Thu Mar 11, 2010 1:34 pm

You could create and use tree objects. If you wish, I could add an object property disabling collision checking for it.
User avatar
Pumo
D2X-XL Expert
D2X-XL Expert
Posts: 1434
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 9:28 pm
Location: Here :)
Contact:

Postby Pumo » Thu Mar 11, 2010 5:28 pm

Hey Ben, it looks great!

BTW, if you want to use trees, i've used some on PM (a Beta with 3 levels that Diedel, Blarget and some others have tested) using ASE models.

If you wish, i can send you the PM beta if you want to check how i put those trees there.
It was a bit hard but the effort worths it.
[Pumo software main website] - Pumo Mines current progress: 60%
-SYSTEM SPECS-
CPU: Intel Core i7 4790 3.6 GHz (4 GHz Turbo)
RAM: 16GB DDR3 1333MHZ
SSD: Kingston SSDNow V300, 240GB
HDD: Seagate 1TB 7200RPM SATA
External HDD: Seagate Backup Plus Slim 1TB 5400RPM
Video: nVidia GeForce GTX 1050 Ti OC 4GB
Sound: RealTek High Definition Audio
Display 1: LG 24M38H 24" 1080p HD LED Monitor
Display 2: Dell 19" 1440x900 TFT Monitor
OS: Windows 10 64-bits
Ben K
Posts: 452
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 7:21 am
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Postby Ben K » Thu Mar 11, 2010 7:01 pm

This area won't actually be accessible, just viewable through the glass at the front. Disabled collisions may be useful elsewhere though.

I should really have a look at PM anyway, but getting statics working shouldn't be any problem; just means I have to open up Blender again until I get Maya at home.

Image
Another part of the same complex. I'm going to add a door there.

Image
Middle tier.

Image
Outside the basement. The rock and concrete textures are going to need changing, I think - just not enough detail at the moment. That hole is where an airlock door is going.
User avatar
Kaizerwolf
Posts: 390
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 4:37 pm

Postby Kaizerwolf » Thu Mar 11, 2010 9:56 pm

Amazing, AGAIN! You're doing an awesome job... I'll admit, I've never seen your levels before, and they look great! I would LOVE to beta test this when it comes out. :)
What if, in 30 years, you're considered for the highest office in the land and get denied because some sneak found that misspelled post of yours about how "Nickledon" sucked and ruins your political career by exposing it?- poxpower
User avatar
Obi-Wan Kenobi
Posts: 262
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 9:56 pm
Location: Tatooine
Contact:

Postby Obi-Wan Kenobi » Thu Mar 11, 2010 10:09 pm

as beta stesting goes? you can count me in too, damn that looks nice I like the dark shaded spots too, very creepy level design, makes it alot better as well.
Firefox: 1CPU 8 Core OpteronMP 6140 D1, 32GB PC3-12800 ECC Reg HP/Micron Server Ram, Supermicro H8SGL-B/F, Sapphire Nitro+ RX 580 SE 8GB GDDR5
Blue-Leader: 2CPU 6 Core OpteronDP 2435 D0, 32GB PC2-6400 ECC Reg Kingston Value Ram, Supermicro H8DAE-2, Sapphire Nitro OC+ R9 Fury 4GB HBM
Valkyrie: 2CPU 12 Core OpteronMP 6180 SE D1, 48GB PC3-12800 ECC Reg HP/Hynix & Samsung, Supermicro H8DG6-F, Sapphire Nitro RX Vega 64 LE 2.0 8GB HBM2
Sirius
Posts: 1987
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 10:29 pm
Location: Bellevue, WA
Contact:

Postby Sirius » Fri Mar 12, 2010 4:07 am

Is this the level you were formerly building in D3? It looks familiar.
Ben K
Posts: 452
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 7:21 am
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Postby Ben K » Fri Mar 12, 2010 4:54 am

It is.

I put that one together in Blender, but on seeing no way to get that into D3 without redoing all the textures, I put that aside. At this point there's actually more capacity in D2X-XL than there is in D3.
Ben K
Posts: 452
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 7:21 am
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Postby Ben K » Tue Jun 29, 2010 10:47 am

Well, I'm back to texturing this again, in between trying to figure out what file formats work and struggling to see anything amongst the DMB rendering bugs. Hopefully I'll have it coloured in by the end of the week, then I can start on some models.
Ben K
Posts: 452
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 7:21 am
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Postby Ben K » Wed Jun 30, 2010 11:50 am

Image

Image

Image

More of the central nervous system of the facility. The animated D3 forcefields and the screen are going to be changed to new textures, and the lighting should improve a bit with some light objects later on. I had to use flares in the big room to make things visible in the foreground.
User avatar
_Dorthoor_
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri May 14, 2010 4:35 pm

Postby _Dorthoor_ » Wed Jun 30, 2010 1:09 pm

Ben K wrote:It is.

I put that one together in Blender, but on seeing no way to get that into D3 without redoing all the textures, I put that aside. At this point there's actually more capacity in D2X-XL than there is in D3.

How you managed to bring it to descent from Blender?

Return to “D2X-XL Mapping & Modding”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest