New mission in the works.

All about modding, mapping and modeling for D2X-XL

Moderators: Frustikus, simX, Aus-RED-5

User avatar
karx11erx
D2X-XL Master
D2X-XL Master
Posts: 8111
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 8:48 pm
Location: Wilferdingen, Germany
Contact:

Postby karx11erx » Wed Jun 30, 2010 1:20 pm

This looks like this is going to be an absolutely gorgeous mission. :drool:
User avatar
Alter-Fox
Posts: 1131
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 7:29 pm
Location: some other reality

Postby Alter-Fox » Wed Jun 30, 2010 3:43 pm

Ben K wrote:I put that one together in Blender, but on seeing no way to get that into D3 without redoing all the textures...


I think it is possible. I'm working on a D3 mission along with someone who has been building their levels in some 3D modelling program (not sure if it's blender).
We live in a universe... It's distracting
=========================================================
beware of ounce
User avatar
Sapphire Wolf
Posts: 321
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 10:45 pm
Location: nope.avi , gender: male
Contact:

Postby Sapphire Wolf » Wed Jun 30, 2010 3:53 pm

Whoa-nelly! That looks great!
My Deviant Art account-
http://sapphirewolf3057.deviantart.com

specs for Teletraan:
Brand- Custom Built
Processor- Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40 GHz
RAM- 16 GB
Video- NVidia GeForce GTX 760
Sound- Realtek HD Audio
Hard Drive- 1 TB
OS- Windows 7 (64 bits) Professional

Who can I argue with cool things, Mech-Poké-Form-Troid-Robo-Glasses-Nerd-Fortress-Portal
Ben K
Posts: 452
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 7:21 am
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Postby Ben K » Wed Jun 30, 2010 8:07 pm

Alter-Fox wrote:I think it is possible. I'm working on a D3 mission along with someone who has been building their levels in some 3D modelling program (not sure if it's blender).


Should be, yeah. I'm going to give D3 a miss nonetheless.
User avatar
_Dorthoor_
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri May 14, 2010 4:35 pm

Postby _Dorthoor_ » Thu Jul 01, 2010 1:39 am

so are you using converter to somehow put geometry to game? Can you tell us how you do it?
User avatar
Yokelassence
Posts: 954
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 1:54 am
Location: That country full of sheep.

Postby Yokelassence » Thu Jul 01, 2010 4:03 am

I want to know too.

The level of detail you are using is not unlike the BSP brushes I made in the Unreal Engine. Making that kind of geometry is extremely hard to do just by carving cubes.
-Core 2 Duo E8500 3.2Ghz--Radeon HD4850--4GB DDR2-800--Gigabyte EP45-DS3L--640GB Storage--Antec 300 Case-
-Now with Wi-Fi Access-
Ben K
Posts: 452
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 7:21 am
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Postby Ben K » Thu Jul 01, 2010 4:41 am

It is done with cubes. If I had the ability to do the whole shell in a 3D program I'd be more ambitious with the detail and I'd get it done much faster. :wink:
User avatar
darkflamewolf
Posts: 690
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2008 9:14 pm
Location: Minot, ND

Postby darkflamewolf » Thu Jul 01, 2010 9:54 am

Gah, might as well quit on Azaran Zodiark. No way its going to look this good. I'm not that talented! >_<
Awesome work btw.
User avatar
_Dorthoor_
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri May 14, 2010 4:35 pm

Postby _Dorthoor_ » Thu Jul 01, 2010 12:28 pm

that depends on what result you want to achieve. If you want fame or to be the best - you will have to do worse missions to improve your talent. If you just give up - you wont create anything - yet all time you've already spent will be wasted.
Sirius
Posts: 1987
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 10:29 pm
Location: Bellevue, WA
Contact:

Postby Sirius » Thu Jul 01, 2010 3:43 pm

I don't think that's entirely serious... ;)
User avatar
Yokelassence
Posts: 954
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 1:54 am
Location: That country full of sheep.

Postby Yokelassence » Thu Jul 01, 2010 11:40 pm

I hope not, I want to play DFW's missions no matter how good the competition is. Don't quit! D:

Anyway, Ben K, dang if this is all done in DLE-XP then it must be taking you forever just to make one room!
-Core 2 Duo E8500 3.2Ghz--Radeon HD4850--4GB DDR2-800--Gigabyte EP45-DS3L--640GB Storage--Antec 300 Case-

-Now with Wi-Fi Access-
Ben K
Posts: 452
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 7:21 am
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Postby Ben K » Fri Jul 02, 2010 8:41 am

Yes, it does. I'm trying to leave some detail for props but there's no getting around it; it takes way longer to do it this way than just make a regular Descent 2 level.

But I've done dozens of regular D2 levels, so this set is all about pushing the boundaries of what you can expect out of D2's engine.
Ben K
Posts: 452
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 7:21 am
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Postby Ben K » Sat Jul 03, 2010 8:30 am

For once my timeline was accurate. Done the base textures, there's just a forcefield and sign I'm going to put together in Photoshop. And animated water texture, I guess. Time to start building objects after that.

Image
Image
Image
User avatar
karx11erx
D2X-XL Master
D2X-XL Master
Posts: 8111
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 8:48 pm
Location: Wilferdingen, Germany
Contact:

Postby karx11erx » Sat Jul 03, 2010 10:09 am

Wow.

I just bet this mission will be too short - no matter how long it will be. :?
User avatar
blarget#
Posts: 673
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2009 1:50 am

Postby blarget# » Sat Jul 03, 2010 2:35 pm

it looks kind of like the map im making now, aqua caverns, in a weird way. yours looks cooler though. but don't hesitate to use more cubes for finer details. what i mean is it looks just a little blocky (even though rocks are usually sort-of blocky). only a little though.

Return to “D2X-XL Mapping & Modding”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest