How to retexture robots of Descent?

All about modding, mapping and modeling for D2X-XL

Moderators: Frustikus, simX, Aus-RED-5

User avatar
CargoOfDarkness
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 12:04 pm
Location: :Location

How to retexture robots of Descent?

Postby CargoOfDarkness » Wed Sep 02, 2009 10:15 am

Hello!

I would like to know how I can give robots new texturing like the autor of the `"Sphere"-mission did that in his levels (for example gave Smelter a fire-boss texture - awesome)?

I dont want to build new robots, just retexture the old descent robots.

Please help!
User avatar
Yokelassence
Posts: 974
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 1:54 am
Location: That country full of sheep.

Postby Yokelassence » Wed Sep 02, 2009 11:15 am

I used Polytron to change robot textures. Even then I used the simple way:

First I used HAXMEDIT to make a copy of the smelter model, then in Polytron I switched its texture palette to that of another robot. Next I adjusted the texture alignment on the model until the new textures fit nicely. Lastly I used HAX again to assign the new model to the smelter clone

But to give a robot completely new texture you may need RBotEdit. I think that is what Pumo uses.
-Core i5 4690 3.5Ghz--GTX 1070 8GB--16GB DDR3 800--Z97 Extreme4--512GB SSD/2TB HDD--Zalman Z11 case-

Old PC that no longer turns on. May it R.I.P:
-Core 2 Duo E8500 3.2Ghz--HD4850 512MB--4GB DDR2-800--Gigabyte EP45-DS3L--640GB Storage--Antec 300 Case-
User avatar
CargoOfDarkness
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 12:04 pm
Location: :Location

Postby CargoOfDarkness » Wed Sep 02, 2009 11:58 am

Hey, tank you!

The big question is: Where to find these programs? :?: :wink:


RobotEdit, is this the programm you find on descent2.com??? I used this once but I cant use the .HAM file it produced on any of my missions (HOG). I am total noob with that. :? Do I have to call this HAM like my level (like the .HXMs) or like my mission? Or what? *cfused*

EDIT: Can I make different textures for each level of my mission or will every robot in EVERY level have these new textures?

EDIT²: Another question come to my mind: Is it possible to change the kind of robots a boss robot creates (like the fire boss creating seekers and smelter clones) into something else???


Looking forward to your help!!
Last edited by CargoOfDarkness on Wed Sep 02, 2009 12:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"Prepare For Descent" - "Auf Absturz vorbereiten" ...jo, passt zu D2X-XL! ;)
User avatar
Yokelassence
Posts: 974
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 1:54 am
Location: That country full of sheep.

Postby Yokelassence » Wed Sep 02, 2009 12:47 pm

Get the robot construction kit here. That comes packaged with HAX and Polytron. RBotEdit is on that website too.

Bear in mind that HAM files are for changing everything, not just robots. Missions with new weapons use HAM files for instance

HXM files are easier to use, all you have to do is change some robot settings in DLE-XP and it makes an HXM file for you. Each level has its own HXM file assigned to it so you can have robots behave differently between levels. To assign an HXM to a level just give the HXM the same name as the level.

In fact if you want all robots to behave the same you must copy/paste the same HXM between each level or use a HAM

DLE-XP does not let you change robot models however so that is where you use HAXMEDIT, it gives you full control over all properties in the HXM.
-Core i5 4690 3.5Ghz--GTX 1070 8GB--16GB DDR3 800--Z97 Extreme4--512GB SSD/2TB HDD--Zalman Z11 case-

Old PC that no longer turns on. May it R.I.P:
-Core 2 Duo E8500 3.2Ghz--HD4850 512MB--4GB DDR2-800--Gigabyte EP45-DS3L--640GB Storage--Antec 300 Case-
User avatar
CargoOfDarkness
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 12:04 pm
Location: :Location

Postby CargoOfDarkness » Wed Sep 02, 2009 12:50 pm

Thank you very much! I will try this out! :o

So HXM contains the robot textures? That means I can creat individual textures for robots in every level in my mission. Yay!

Now what about the boss robot creating thing? :)
"Prepare For Descent" - "Auf Absturz vorbereiten" ...jo, passt zu D2X-XL! ;)
User avatar
Yokelassence
Posts: 974
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 1:54 am
Location: That country full of sheep.

Postby Yokelassence » Wed Sep 02, 2009 12:57 pm

The HXM contains the robot behavior, robot models, weapon models, player ship models, sprites and texture palettes.

NOTE:

The model contains texture data.

The texture palettes (Object bitmaps) control what textures are available for the model so changing the palettes change the textures of everything

[edit]

Anyway to make bosses spawn other robots you can try the spawn robot trigger in DLE-XP. I tried using it in The Sphere but it only seems to spawn one robot.

I do not know if you can actually edit the list of robots the Boss can spawn, it seems to be embedded in the AI
Last edited by Yokelassence on Wed Sep 02, 2009 1:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.
-Core i5 4690 3.5Ghz--GTX 1070 8GB--16GB DDR3 800--Z97 Extreme4--512GB SSD/2TB HDD--Zalman Z11 case-

Old PC that no longer turns on. May it R.I.P:
-Core 2 Duo E8500 3.2Ghz--HD4850 512MB--4GB DDR2-800--Gigabyte EP45-DS3L--640GB Storage--Antec 300 Case-
User avatar
CargoOfDarkness
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 12:04 pm
Location: :Location

Postby CargoOfDarkness » Wed Sep 02, 2009 1:00 pm

Yokelassence wrote:The texture palettes control what textures are available for the model so changing the palettes change the textures of everything

So if I change the palette of one robot model it will change the palette for every robot? Or just for that kind?
"Prepare For Descent" - "Auf Absturz vorbereiten" ...jo, passt zu D2X-XL! ;)
User avatar
Yokelassence
Posts: 974
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 1:54 am
Location: That country full of sheep.

Postby Yokelassence » Wed Sep 02, 2009 1:09 pm

Every robot, because all robots get their textures from one source: A numbered list of textures.

I kinda lied about robots storing textures, instead they store the number positions in this big list. (my bad)

When you add Object bitmaps in HAX, you edit that big list. The models are still referring to the same number positions but the textures at those positions get changed. So you end up with all models looking different.
-Core i5 4690 3.5Ghz--GTX 1070 8GB--16GB DDR3 800--Z97 Extreme4--512GB SSD/2TB HDD--Zalman Z11 case-

Old PC that no longer turns on. May it R.I.P:
-Core 2 Duo E8500 3.2Ghz--HD4850 512MB--4GB DDR2-800--Gigabyte EP45-DS3L--640GB Storage--Antec 300 Case-
User avatar
CargoOfDarkness
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 12:04 pm
Location: :Location

Postby CargoOfDarkness » Wed Sep 02, 2009 4:41 pm

Yokelassence wrote:Get the robot construction kit here. That comes packaged with HAX and Polytron. RBotEdit is on that website too.


pmv.exe does not start. :O


Hell, is there no installation guide out there.


Awww, why is that so complex... there are 4 programms now and its so complex. I think it will not work on Vista...

pltron32.exe loads something and crashes then.... awww


LOL I give up! :x :x :x 10 years old software cant run on any new computer if it is not build by Diedel....
"Prepare For Descent" - "Auf Absturz vorbereiten" ...jo, passt zu D2X-XL! ;)
Ben K
Posts: 452
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 7:21 am
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Postby Ben K » Wed Sep 02, 2009 7:58 pm

Boss robot spawns are hard coded.
User avatar
Yokelassence
Posts: 974
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 1:54 am
Location: That country full of sheep.

Postby Yokelassence » Thu Sep 03, 2009 12:37 am

Yea it was all built for windows 95. But it should work in Vista so long as you use compatability mode.

It also demands certain fonts to be installed (which is kinda bad programming) and it needs access to the original descent2

Here is what I did
Image

Notice that I have a copy of Descent2 1.2 in my tools folder where DVM is installed. This allows DVM (Descent version manager) to easily find Descent2.HAM and other important resources. The folder structure of D2X-XL means that DVM cannot find what it needs in your D2X-XL installation

So once you have a "dummy descent" in there, run DVM and give it the directory of the dummy, do that BEFORE you run any other programs or they will just crash!

See how that goes and let me know if you have any other problems
-Core i5 4690 3.5Ghz--GTX 1070 8GB--16GB DDR3 800--Z97 Extreme4--512GB SSD/2TB HDD--Zalman Z11 case-

Old PC that no longer turns on. May it R.I.P:
-Core 2 Duo E8500 3.2Ghz--HD4850 512MB--4GB DDR2-800--Gigabyte EP45-DS3L--640GB Storage--Antec 300 Case-
Sirius
Posts: 1990
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 10:29 pm
Location: Bellevue, WA
Contact:

Postby Sirius » Thu Sep 03, 2009 1:26 am

There isn't a whole lot of the Descent Manager suite that isn't badly designed, to be honest.
User avatar
karx11erx
D2X-XL Master
D2X-XL Master
Posts: 8112
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 8:48 pm
Location: Wilferdingen, Germany
Contact:

Postby karx11erx » Thu Sep 03, 2009 7:26 am

Ben,

do you know that you can change robot spawns with D2X-XL in D2X-XL levels via robot triggers? You need to attach a robot spawn trigger to a boss and let that spawn trigger point to some (unreachable) robot generator which you assign the robots the boss should spawn.
User avatar
CargoOfDarkness
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 12:04 pm
Location: :Location

Postby CargoOfDarkness » Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:48 pm

@Yokelassence:

Thank you, I will give it another try. ;)


karx11erx wrote:do you know that you can change robot spawns with D2X-XL in D2X-XL levels via robot triggers? You need to attach a robot spawn trigger to a boss and let that spawn trigger point to some (unreachable) robot generator which you assign the robots the boss should spawn.


Sounds cool, I tried it. I attached to my Red Fatty Boss a objekt tricker "spawn bot" and refered to a roboter maker cube 50 with side 4... but it does not spam any bots at all, anymore. Mmmh... :?
Do I need any other tirgger parameter? Strength 0 %? Time "-1"??? Like DX-XL probs "permanent" "alternating" or "set orient"??? Or do I need "one shot"? Or what?
"Prepare For Descent" - "Auf Absturz vorbereiten" ...jo, passt zu D2X-XL! ;)
User avatar
CargoOfDarkness
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 12:04 pm
Location: :Location

Postby CargoOfDarkness » Thu Sep 03, 2009 7:18 pm

Really, I dont know where to start to install all these programms...

I configurated HXMED32.exe and it loads a while then it says: Error #75 in HAXMEDit32 Path File Acess Error

The fun thing is that all these programms actually load something but crash later, even in compatibly mode win95...

dvm32.exe acutally registered my descent2. Thats okay.
dvm.exe does not work.


NTVDM.EXE does not work if I use any programm. -_-
"Prepare For Descent" - "Auf Absturz vorbereiten" ...jo, passt zu D2X-XL! ;)

Return to “D2X-XL Mapping & Modding”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests