How to retexture robots of Descent?

All about modding, mapping and modeling for D2X-XL

Moderators: Frustikus, simX, Aus-RED-5

Ben K
Posts: 452
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 7:21 am
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Postby Ben K » Thu Sep 03, 2009 7:38 pm

Yeah, I figured you'd make it customisable in D2X-XL sooner or later.
User avatar
Yokelassence
Posts: 974
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 1:54 am
Location: That country full of sheep.

Postby Yokelassence » Fri Sep 04, 2009 1:10 am

CargoOfDarkness wrote:@Yokelassence:

Sounds cool, I tried it. I attached to my Red Fatty Boss a objekt tricker "spawn bot" and refered to a roboter maker cube 50 with side 4... but it does not spam any bots at all, anymore. Mmmh... :?
Do I need any other tirgger parameter? Strength 0 %? Time "-1"??? Like DX-XL probs "permanent" "alternating" or "set orient"??? Or do I need "one shot"? Or what?


You should only need to assign a trigger to a boss and point it to a robot generator. I think it can be just any generator. No need for other flags

except maybe 'permanent' because in my experience the boss would only spawn one robot once the trigger was hit and then continue with its normal spawning activity.

I am not certain why HAX is giving you so much trouble, once DVM works the rest should work. At least it did for me. Make sure DVM is pointing to an original and complete copy of Descent 2 that is patched to 1.2. I stress again; do not use your D2X-XL directory

DVM may sometimes detect D2X-XL as valid copy of Descent but if you use it, D2X-XL screws it up!

Also check that the directories are correct in HAX:
Image

Lastly make sure you are using the 32 bit versions: DVM32, HAXMEDIT32 and POLYTRON32. The rest do not work, do not bother installing them.
-Core i5 4690 3.5Ghz--GTX 1070 8GB--16GB DDR3 800--Z97 Extreme4--512GB SSD/2TB HDD--Zalman Z11 case-

Old PC that no longer turns on. May it R.I.P:
-Core 2 Duo E8500 3.2Ghz--HD4850 512MB--4GB DDR2-800--Gigabyte EP45-DS3L--640GB Storage--Antec 300 Case-
User avatar
CargoOfDarkness
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 12:04 pm
Location: :Location

Postby CargoOfDarkness » Wed Sep 09, 2009 10:06 am

Well... I cant get those programms to run... :cry: :x :?


@Yokel: Would you be so kind and do me some recolorings for me, please? I can create some pictures in the programm roboedit and tell u the textures.

And do you need my modified HXM´s for that or can I just import these later with an old version of HXMEDIT I got?
"Prepare For Descent" - "Auf Absturz vorbereiten" ...jo, passt zu D2X-XL! ;)
User avatar
Yokelassence
Posts: 974
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 1:54 am
Location: That country full of sheep.

Postby Yokelassence » Wed Sep 09, 2009 12:28 pm

Darn, I guess there is not much else you can do until someone fixes up those old programs :(

Well I could help you with re-texturing although I am busy with a mission at the moment (and job interviews)

On the other hand if you can create some images in RBotEdit (I take it that works for you) then you should not need me to edit the HXM's for you, RbotEdit can do that too. I can help you learn how to use it.
-Core i5 4690 3.5Ghz--GTX 1070 8GB--16GB DDR3 800--Z97 Extreme4--512GB SSD/2TB HDD--Zalman Z11 case-

Old PC that no longer turns on. May it R.I.P:
-Core 2 Duo E8500 3.2Ghz--HD4850 512MB--4GB DDR2-800--Gigabyte EP45-DS3L--640GB Storage--Antec 300 Case-
User avatar
CargoOfDarkness
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 12:04 pm
Location: :Location

Postby CargoOfDarkness » Wed Sep 09, 2009 4:12 pm

Well the Rbotedit is okay but I cant save it into a hxm:

And yes, I tried every option on that.

Image


maybe you could make me this robot?

Image
"Prepare For Descent" - "Auf Absturz vorbereiten" ...jo, passt zu D2X-XL! ;)
User avatar
Pumo
D2X-XL Expert
D2X-XL Expert
Posts: 1437
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 9:28 pm
Location: Here :)
Contact:

Postby Pumo » Wed Sep 09, 2009 4:47 pm

That happens when you're not storing to a blank HXM. As i can see on you screenshot, there is a '*' just before the robot entry you want to replace.
That means that slot has been already used before.
[Pumo software main website] - Pumo Mines current progress: 60%
-SYSTEM SPECS-
CPU: Intel Core i7 4790 3.6 GHz (4 GHz Turbo)
RAM: 16GB DDR3 1333MHZ
SSD: Kingston SSDNow V300, 240GB
HDD: Seagate 1TB 7200RPM SATA
External HDD: Seagate Backup Plus Slim 1TB 5400RPM
Video: nVidia GeForce GTX 1050 Ti OC 4GB
Sound: RealTek High Definition Audio
Display 1: LG 24M38H 24" 1080p HD LED Monitor
Display 2: Dell 19" 1440x900 TFT Monitor
OS: Windows 10 64-bits
User avatar
Yokelassence
Posts: 974
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 1:54 am
Location: That country full of sheep.

Postby Yokelassence » Thu Sep 10, 2009 12:35 am

Do you use RBotEdit Pumo? You may know more about it than I do.

We just need to show COD how to use it.
-Core i5 4690 3.5Ghz--GTX 1070 8GB--16GB DDR3 800--Z97 Extreme4--512GB SSD/2TB HDD--Zalman Z11 case-

Old PC that no longer turns on. May it R.I.P:
-Core 2 Duo E8500 3.2Ghz--HD4850 512MB--4GB DDR2-800--Gigabyte EP45-DS3L--640GB Storage--Antec 300 Case-
User avatar
Pumo
D2X-XL Expert
D2X-XL Expert
Posts: 1437
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 9:28 pm
Location: Here :)
Contact:

Postby Pumo » Thu Sep 10, 2009 5:31 pm

Yeap, i use RbotEdit a lot.
I will see if COD has MSN so i can help him in realtime.
[Pumo software main website] - Pumo Mines current progress: 60%
-SYSTEM SPECS-
CPU: Intel Core i7 4790 3.6 GHz (4 GHz Turbo)
RAM: 16GB DDR3 1333MHZ
SSD: Kingston SSDNow V300, 240GB
HDD: Seagate 1TB 7200RPM SATA
External HDD: Seagate Backup Plus Slim 1TB 5400RPM
Video: nVidia GeForce GTX 1050 Ti OC 4GB
Sound: RealTek High Definition Audio
Display 1: LG 24M38H 24" 1080p HD LED Monitor
Display 2: Dell 19" 1440x900 TFT Monitor
OS: Windows 10 64-bits

Return to “D2X-XL Mapping & Modding”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests