Dimensional Intersect [FINAL 1.4]

All about modding, mapping and modeling for D2X-XL

Moderators: Frustikus, simX, Aus-RED-5

User avatar
Yokelassence
Posts: 974
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 1:54 am
Location: That country full of sheep.

Postby Yokelassence » Wed Dec 15, 2010 10:59 am

I'm comparing you build with mine. It looks like you got all the robots, effects and power-ups accounted for and they are in the correct position.

I have been out of the loop for the past several months but I am guessing you found a way to copy the objects straight from DI to DI-Split. Because if you manually placed all those objects in their exact position and rotation ...I'd be impressed ...and intimidated

The only thing that appears to be missing is the object triggers and of course the new area's I have prepared
-Core i5 4690 3.5Ghz--GTX 1070 8GB--16GB DDR3 800--Z97 Extreme4--512GB SSD/2TB HDD--Zalman Z11 case-

Old PC that no longer turns on. May it R.I.P:
-Core 2 Duo E8500 3.2Ghz--HD4850 512MB--4GB DDR2-800--Gigabyte EP45-DS3L--640GB Storage--Antec 300 Case-
User avatar
karx11erx
D2X-XL Master
D2X-XL Master
Posts: 8112
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 8:48 pm
Location: Wilferdingen, Germany
Contact:

Postby karx11erx » Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:25 am

Actually I haven't copied the robots. What I have done is the following: For each level area I have loaded the original version of DI, marked all segments I wanted to remove (keeping only the desired level area), deleted the unwanted segments, and saved the level to a new hog file. D2X-XL will take care of updating all internal references when deleting segments and whatever is contained in them (objects, walls, triggers). Once I had done that, I opened each of the new hog files, renamed the level files in there (DLE-XP all saved them under the name dinter.rl2/lgt/clr/hxm/pog), and exported the files in them. To ease the process of renaming, the latest DLE-XP version will rename all related files in a hog file when renaming a rl2 file. Then I copied the original DI hog file to a file with a different name, removed the dinter.rl2 etc. files, and imported the level files I had created before.

That's how to keep all robots and what not when splitting up levels. ;)

To reduce the size of my DI version, I am currently making it somewhat easier to save custom textures (DLE-XP will propose a filename based on the original texture name, which it didn't before, forcing you to manually enter the filename every time you wanted to save a texture. Bleh!). Once this works I will get the original DI and export all its custom textures to a mod folder. Then I will export all pog files from the split version of DI as backup and subsequently delete them from the hog file.
User avatar
Yokelassence
Posts: 974
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 1:54 am
Location: That country full of sheep.

Postby Yokelassence » Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:11 am

Now why didn't I think of that? :think:

Anyway, with D2X-XL running again I plan to transfer my added rooms to DI Split and replace the object triggers. I can do that after my graduation this Friday

There are still some major changes I want to make: I want to extend the Forest level which is something I have wanted to do since I made that area. It always felt shorter than the rest of the mission. Cramming it full of robots was the only way to make it seem longer. I'm thinking of putting a second hectare of forestry behind the starting point and then shift the starting point further back. I also think the Cavern could use more detail

One question though: when you made DI-split did you use DI 1.3 or DI 1.4?
-Core i5 4690 3.5Ghz--GTX 1070 8GB--16GB DDR3 800--Z97 Extreme4--512GB SSD/2TB HDD--Zalman Z11 case-

Old PC that no longer turns on. May it R.I.P:
-Core 2 Duo E8500 3.2Ghz--HD4850 512MB--4GB DDR2-800--Gigabyte EP45-DS3L--640GB Storage--Antec 300 Case-
User avatar
karx11erx
D2X-XL Master
D2X-XL Master
Posts: 8112
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 8:48 pm
Location: Wilferdingen, Germany
Contact:

Postby karx11erx » Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:49 pm

I am not entirely sure, you should compare yourself.
User avatar
Yokelassence
Posts: 974
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 1:54 am
Location: That country full of sheep.

Postby Yokelassence » Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:51 am

You were using DI 1.3

Bugger, I made a number of important changes between 1.3 and 1.4. I'll need to hunt down every alteration and redo them (I have a change log but I didn't keep a list of every misaligned texture I found)

Still, it would take less time to do that than replace all the objects in the build I had.
-Core i5 4690 3.5Ghz--GTX 1070 8GB--16GB DDR3 800--Z97 Extreme4--512GB SSD/2TB HDD--Zalman Z11 case-

Old PC that no longer turns on. May it R.I.P:
-Core 2 Duo E8500 3.2Ghz--HD4850 512MB--4GB DDR2-800--Gigabyte EP45-DS3L--640GB Storage--Antec 300 Case-
User avatar
karx11erx
D2X-XL Master
D2X-XL Master
Posts: 8112
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 8:48 pm
Location: Wilferdingen, Germany
Contact:

Postby karx11erx » Fri Dec 17, 2010 6:48 am

I can rebuild DI-Split using v1.4. Will take me like two hours or so.
User avatar
karx11erx
D2X-XL Master
D2X-XL Master
Posts: 8112
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 8:48 pm
Location: Wilferdingen, Germany
Contact:

Postby karx11erx » Fri Dec 17, 2010 11:48 pm

Done. Same URI.
User avatar
Yokelassence
Posts: 974
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 1:54 am
Location: That country full of sheep.

Postby Yokelassence » Sat Dec 18, 2010 10:27 am

Oh, wow. Thanks

Im working on the mission right now

EDIT:

The file at: http://www.descent2.de/missions/3rdpart ... i-split.7z appears to be unchanged, retry?
-Core i5 4690 3.5Ghz--GTX 1070 8GB--16GB DDR3 800--Z97 Extreme4--512GB SSD/2TB HDD--Zalman Z11 case-

Old PC that no longer turns on. May it R.I.P:
-Core 2 Duo E8500 3.2Ghz--HD4850 512MB--4GB DDR2-800--Gigabyte EP45-DS3L--640GB Storage--Antec 300 Case-
User avatar
karx11erx
D2X-XL Master
D2X-XL Master
Posts: 8112
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 8:48 pm
Location: Wilferdingen, Germany
Contact:

Postby karx11erx » Sat Dec 18, 2010 12:51 pm

That's because your browser cache or proxy still holds it.
Last edited by karx11erx on Sat Dec 18, 2010 1:08 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Yokelassence
Posts: 974
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 1:54 am
Location: That country full of sheep.

Postby Yokelassence » Sat Dec 18, 2010 1:02 pm

I'm using campus PC's, so perhaps the university proxy server has something to do with that.

I'm getting a 404 now, did you just pull the file?
-Core i5 4690 3.5Ghz--GTX 1070 8GB--16GB DDR3 800--Z97 Extreme4--512GB SSD/2TB HDD--Zalman Z11 case-

Old PC that no longer turns on. May it R.I.P:
-Core 2 Duo E8500 3.2Ghz--HD4850 512MB--4GB DDR2-800--Gigabyte EP45-DS3L--640GB Storage--Antec 300 Case-
User avatar
karx11erx
D2X-XL Master
D2X-XL Master
Posts: 8112
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 8:48 pm
Location: Wilferdingen, Germany
Contact:

Postby karx11erx » Sat Dec 18, 2010 1:08 pm

User avatar
Yokelassence
Posts: 974
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 1:54 am
Location: That country full of sheep.

Postby Yokelassence » Tue Dec 21, 2010 1:30 pm

I finished moving all my recent changes to DI-Split so from now on I'll be building on top of that release. I also decided to rename DI-Split to Dimensional Intersect 2.0, the multi-level version will now continue from that number. The next version of the single-level version will be 1.5 (Not many changes, a few more textures that needed fixing and some object placement revision)

So the naming scheme will look like this

...........................................Filename.........Mission name
Single Level version..............dinter-1.5 .......Dimensional Intersect: Monolevel
Multi Level version................dinter-2.0 .......Dimensional Intersect: Polylevel
Multiplayer version................danar-1.0 .......Dimensional Anarchy

Although development will be focused on di-2.0 now, I will still support the single-level version because the mission was designed to be just one level from the start and it simply works best that way...provided you have the hardware to run it.

The multi-level version reduces some limitations in terms of your hardware performance and allows me to add some new stuff but it also adds some limitations in terms of functionality, EG: the boss camera's don't work between levels and coop players can't divide between levels or D2X-XL freaks out. Besides, I see the single-level version as a bit of a milestone. It was the 'first' for many things and I don't feel like it should be depreceated

Anyway, the remaining tasks I have for DI-2.0 include two more complete sections I want to add to the Cavern and the Forest, followed by populating the new area's with objects.

Then theres bug testing...lots and lots of bug testing. Having everything in seperate levels fundamentally changes how the entire mission works and I need to double check everything to make sure it still works. Making the Nexus recall when a level has been visited and completed will be the tricky part.

And boy are there a ton of bugs right now! First time I ran the mission it crashed instantly. I fixed that problem but there are many more, some of which are DLE-XP bugs which I'll post more about on sourceforge soon. It's going to take a while beforeit all gets ironed out, but I am hoping to get this done as quickly as possible

Thanks to my Imagine Cup obligations I have far less time with this project that it seemed. Nothing more than 3 weeks at most. Right now I need to take my eyes off this project so I can respond to my team, they need me right now. I'll get back to this once I answer them but whatever they ask me to do gets top priority and thats exactly what the Imagine Cup will be in January.
-Core i5 4690 3.5Ghz--GTX 1070 8GB--16GB DDR3 800--Z97 Extreme4--512GB SSD/2TB HDD--Zalman Z11 case-

Old PC that no longer turns on. May it R.I.P:
-Core 2 Duo E8500 3.2Ghz--HD4850 512MB--4GB DDR2-800--Gigabyte EP45-DS3L--640GB Storage--Antec 300 Case-
User avatar
Yokelassence
Posts: 974
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 1:54 am
Location: That country full of sheep.

Postby Yokelassence » Sun Jan 02, 2011 12:04 pm

Moving on...

I lost my internet access over the past several weeks, but I got it back again just in time for a release :)

I am almost done with DI 2.0. Just a few more tweaks to the forest and thats it. One more week might cover it
-Core i5 4690 3.5Ghz--GTX 1070 8GB--16GB DDR3 800--Z97 Extreme4--512GB SSD/2TB HDD--Zalman Z11 case-

Old PC that no longer turns on. May it R.I.P:
-Core 2 Duo E8500 3.2Ghz--HD4850 512MB--4GB DDR2-800--Gigabyte EP45-DS3L--640GB Storage--Antec 300 Case-
User avatar
Yokelassence
Posts: 974
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 1:54 am
Location: That country full of sheep.

Postby Yokelassence » Tue Jan 04, 2011 1:55 pm

The new extensions are finished. Done and done.

The bad news is that I am once again out of time and can no longer continue working on DI. But true to my word I will release what I have completed so far in the hopes that anyone else here might be able to pick up where I left off.

The good news is that everything is 99% finished with only some bugs here and there needing to be patched. Because I can't do much testing I don't really know what bugs exist, I just know that they are there.

I played the mission myself and fixed over 30 bugs right off the bat, there is surely more. Everything seems to be in a playable state for now but I would treat these as Beta versions until a complete play-through can be made without interruption I'm sure someone here might have no trouble doing that :)

Anyway heres a download link for all three versions. The names have ended up like this:

...........................................Filename..........................Mission name...............3LA.........Download
Single Level version..............dinter-1.5 ........................D.I: Monolevel.............DIM........http://www.mediafire.com/?2v666d4p6y2rqhc
Multi Level version................dinter_multilevel-2.0 .........D.I: Polylevel...............DIP........http://www.mediafire.com/?dpk8a78ju01xswh
Multiplayer version................dinter_anarchy-1.0 ...........D.I: Anarchy................DA .......http://www.mediafire.com/?agzg7zz1amtwue2

If there are any bugs left that I did not catch then I expect them in the form of some textures not displaying correctly. DLE-XP has been messing with my head when it comes to textures, although I think I got it sorted out there really is no telling when one or two textures might randomly decide to display themselves upside down for no apparent reason in the game

The multplayer version is also completely untested in the field of anarchy and the robot/player/equipment placement has been left unaltered. I think the player starts and powerups need to be rearranged in each level in order for each level to be balanced and fair but I don't have time for that. All I have done is remove triggers and open all accessways so each level can be played like a regular deathmatch level.

I think the Forest, Glacier, City and Asteroid levels could be really neat and balanced deathmatch levels, all it needs is a little cleanup from someone who really knows how to make a proper deathmatch level.
-Core i5 4690 3.5Ghz--GTX 1070 8GB--16GB DDR3 800--Z97 Extreme4--512GB SSD/2TB HDD--Zalman Z11 case-

Old PC that no longer turns on. May it R.I.P:
-Core 2 Duo E8500 3.2Ghz--HD4850 512MB--4GB DDR2-800--Gigabyte EP45-DS3L--640GB Storage--Antec 300 Case-
User avatar
Alter-Fox
Posts: 1132
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 7:29 pm
Location: some other reality

Postby Alter-Fox » Sat Jan 08, 2011 6:38 pm

I will test this for sure. It shouldn't have the small delay between pressing a button and performing its function that the monolevel version had (it's a problem with my computer any game with huge or very geometrically complex levels. HL2 episode 2 used to do it as well on my old laptop which had the same problem :) ).
We live in a universe... It's distracting
=========================================================
beware of ounce

Return to “D2X-XL Mapping & Modding”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests