Enemy Within impression

All about modding, mapping and modeling for D2X-XL

Moderators: Frustikus, simX, Aus-RED-5

User avatar
darkflamewolf
Posts: 690
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2008 9:14 pm
Location: Minot, ND

Postby darkflamewolf » Thu Oct 09, 2008 3:11 am

so much for a sneaky light fixture substituting as a control panel trick to unveil the full map when you can just brush up against the door and get it.
User avatar
karx11erx
D2X-XL Master
D2X-XL Master
Posts: 8112
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 8:48 pm
Location: Wilferdingen, Germany
Contact:

Postby karx11erx » Thu Oct 09, 2008 7:28 am

Yokelassence wrote:One time I picked up a full map without even knowing it was there! I brushed against a door with the map directly behind, the map was close enough that I collected it through the wall. Thats one D2X-XL bug I like :lol:

That was when and in what mission?

Actually that is not a bug of D2X-XL, but a problem with object sizes coming from the Descent data, and D2X-XL even forces you to get closer to powerups to pick them up now than other D2 versions do now. I doubt this problem still exists in D2X-XL, unless proven otherwise.
User avatar
darkflamewolf
Posts: 690
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2008 9:14 pm
Location: Minot, ND

Postby darkflamewolf » Thu Oct 09, 2008 12:28 pm

I got rebirth to work on this computer and faced off against the Kalki. There is indeed a major difference between fighting him vanilla and then fighting him D2-XL. One major thing contributing to his increased difficulty in D2-XL is any robot's new abilty to fire upon the player regardless if they are being damaged. Is there a toggle to turn this new AI feature off to retain legacy D2? That may be part of the problem. (Difficulty wise, of course)
User avatar
karx11erx
D2X-XL Master
D2X-XL Master
Posts: 8112
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 8:48 pm
Location: Wilferdingen, Germany
Contact:

Postby karx11erx » Thu Oct 09, 2008 12:54 pm

Just set AI aggressivity to "standard"?

I have to say though that I always thought it sucked big time that htting robots rendered them completeley helpless. I like it much much better when they keep firing back.
User avatar
darkflamewolf
Posts: 690
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2008 9:14 pm
Location: Minot, ND

Postby darkflamewolf » Thu Oct 09, 2008 2:48 pm

nope, changing them to standard doesn't change the fact that they still fire at you while being fired upon. So I ask again, is there a toggle, or could you add them not firing when -legacy is enabled?
User avatar
karx11erx
D2X-XL Master
D2X-XL Master
Posts: 8112
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 8:48 pm
Location: Wilferdingen, Germany
Contact:

Postby karx11erx » Thu Oct 09, 2008 5:23 pm

Nope.
User avatar
darkflamewolf
Posts: 690
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2008 9:14 pm
Location: Minot, ND

Postby darkflamewolf » Thu Oct 09, 2008 6:45 pm

okay, then don't complain the Kalkis are too hard then. LOL
:D
*looks at watch for blowup at any moment* :twisted:
User avatar
karx11erx
D2X-XL Master
D2X-XL Master
Posts: 8112
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 8:48 pm
Location: Wilferdingen, Germany
Contact:

Postby karx11erx » Thu Oct 09, 2008 6:54 pm

I didn't even notice that they'd fire back now in standard mode.

Anyway, making a robot behave more reasonable and then having problems with it doesn't mean it's placement is alright. It doesn't play a role whether the Kalki wouldn't be able to fire back when hit at that particular location because it will kill you when you move into a position where you could kill it.
User avatar
Yokelassence
Posts: 974
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 1:54 am
Location: That country full of sheep.

Postby Yokelassence » Fri Oct 10, 2008 2:26 am

karx11erx wrote:That was when and in what mission?


The Enemy Within, Level 4 just over a week ago

Im using 1.13.94 still but the bug was certainly prevailent, just yesterday used it to snag some laser upgrades in the Belial system mission.

You can test this bug in Descent 2: Counterstrike, level 2. Theres a full map right behind a grate not far from where you start, if you can grab that map by ramming the grate then the bug persists.

But I am inclined to agree it seems more like a hires model bug rather than a D2X-XL bug. I dont recall experiencing this bug until I downloaded the hires models.

Dont worry, I dont think alot of people are aware of this one. :wink:
User avatar
darkflamewolf
Posts: 690
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2008 9:14 pm
Location: Minot, ND

Postby darkflamewolf » Fri Oct 10, 2008 11:03 am

well, I haven't touched the hires models and it still is the same for me Yoke.
User avatar
darkflamewolf
Posts: 690
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2008 9:14 pm
Location: Minot, ND

Postby darkflamewolf » Tue Oct 14, 2008 5:33 pm

here is a email I received from a fan who just recently completed the level set and here is what he had to say:

Congrats!!!
This, I know, required a tremendous amount of effort, and tedious hours..but please know that this is by far the best Descent 2 mission set EVER..I have played them all...I still love D2 and have played it form the beginning. I am probably the oldest Descenter around at 65...yes 65 but still a kid at heart!!
I just finished my first run thru of the entire set, and it is truly a work of art...I didn't findany bugs or glitches. Just great fun! This mission brings back the "excitement" youget the first time you play the game..
Thank you and your team for doing this for the rest of us...it is truly appreciated.



Just thought I'd post this up for everybody who worked on the set. Thought it should give you a warm fuzzy.
User avatar
Alter-Fox
Posts: 1132
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 7:29 pm
Location: some other reality

Postby Alter-Fox » Fri Oct 17, 2008 3:13 am

Since it seems I won't be able to use the 'bots from Project: Mandrill for my mission, do you mind if I use some TEW robots instead?
We live in a universe... It's distracting
=========================================================
beware of ounce
Sirius
Posts: 1990
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 10:29 pm
Location: Bellevue, WA
Contact:

Postby Sirius » Fri Oct 17, 2008 3:25 am

I'll leave that to DH, since technically I only converted them. I don't think he'll mind though.
User avatar
darkflamewolf
Posts: 690
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2008 9:14 pm
Location: Minot, ND

Postby darkflamewolf » Sat Oct 18, 2008 2:19 am

and if DH does give permission, make sure you give proper credit to him and the original mission campaign those robots came from.
Ben K
Posts: 452
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 7:21 am
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Postby Ben K » Sun Oct 19, 2008 8:41 pm

I'm fine with that. It doesn't make sense to me to restrict access to material in this game.

Return to “D2X-XL Mapping & Modding”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests