Putting .ASE models in the game...

All about modding, mapping and modeling for D2X-XL

Moderators: Frustikus, simX, Aus-RED-5

-JoFFa-
Posts: 612
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 2:12 pm

Re: Putting .ASE models in the game...

Postby -JoFFa- » Fri Mar 04, 2011 12:10 am

I have recently found an old tool called polyview.
heres a screen.

If there is no model list - what should i name my reactor model for this?

the pumo made a weapons models for descent once.

his laser models called model126.oof but the model in HAM file called polymodel126 does that mean that i have to name model in ase format as model126.ase? do i have to name all models without "poly" ? whats the rule of naming? does names in HAM file has any connection with to-be-names of the ASE custom models?

Bottomline - if there is no list available - what are the references for model names?

Thanks in Advance
User avatar
Pumo
D2X-XL Expert
D2X-XL Expert
Posts: 1437
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 9:28 pm
Location: Here :)
Contact:

Re: Putting .ASE models in the game...

Postby Pumo » Fri Mar 04, 2011 3:31 am

Yeah, you just need to name them as 'modelxxx.ase'.

And not, except for some robot names (intentionally defined by Diedel on D2X-XL) there's not any specific naming scheme for replacing the models. Everything can replace with 'modelxxx'.

In fact the robot names are just a shortcut, you can still replace robot models with the 'modelxxx.ase' naming format.
[Pumo software main website] - Pumo Mines current progress: 60%
-SYSTEM SPECS-
CPU: Intel Core i7 4790 3.6 GHz (4 GHz Turbo)
RAM: 16GB DDR3 1333MHZ
SSD: Kingston SSDNow V300, 240GB
HDD: Seagate 1TB 7200RPM SATA
External HDD: Seagate Backup Plus Slim 1TB 5400RPM
Video: nVidia GeForce GTX 1050 Ti OC 4GB
Sound: RealTek High Definition Audio
Display 1: LG 24M38H 24" 1080p HD LED Monitor
Display 2: Dell 19" 1440x900 TFT Monitor
OS: Windows 10 64-bits
-JoFFa-
Posts: 612
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 2:12 pm

Re: Putting .ASE models in the game...

Postby -JoFFa- » Fri Mar 04, 2011 7:53 am

some "shortcut"..:)

but thanks..:)
Sirius
Posts: 1990
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 10:29 pm
Location: Bellevue, WA
Contact:

Re: Putting .ASE models in the game...

Postby Sirius » Fri Mar 04, 2011 8:11 am

The format would be model<number>.<format extension>
You can find a list of all the polymodel numbers in the game by opening descent2.ham with HAXMEdit. There may be other ways as well. The descent2.de site lists all the robot ones, but there are also low-res robot models, weapon models, and a few miscellaneous (player ship, reactor, marker, mine, flare off the top of my head).
-JoFFa-
Posts: 612
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 2:12 pm

Re: Putting .ASE models in the game...

Postby -JoFFa- » Fri Mar 04, 2011 3:08 pm

That i did. But with PolyView. there i can see the model itself and its number. I wonder - if i made thruster on robots will it work as on pyro (i.e. will the robot's thruster activation correspond with robot movement)?

And i got another question about Pyro or any ASE object i put into game. I made a complete black cube but pyro in it - somehow got light from somewhere else. Its allways lit with some light source but i have no idea why. the other models - got no such trouble - for instance damaged reactor model is not lit.

Whats influencing on illumination of the model in general - the cube light value or the light from side light source?

What can i do to make model completely not lit by any light i.e. - made it black as "in shadow" black?
User avatar
karx11erx
D2X-XL Master
D2X-XL Master
Posts: 8112
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 8:48 pm
Location: Wilferdingen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Putting .ASE models in the game...

Postby karx11erx » Fri Mar 04, 2011 3:20 pm

Didn't you have a thruster model for me once?
Sirius
Posts: 1990
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 10:29 pm
Location: Bellevue, WA
Contact:

Re: Putting .ASE models in the game...

Postby Sirius » Fri Mar 04, 2011 6:38 pm

Depends on the lighting model I think. Basic lighting will probably use the cube light value. The more advanced lighting models seem to calculate this based on the direction of light sources.
-JoFFa-
Posts: 612
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 2:12 pm

Re: Putting .ASE models in the game...

Postby -JoFFa- » Fri Mar 04, 2011 8:56 pm

karx11erx wrote:Didn't you have a thruster model for me once?


Yup. I had. I have actually. but i was waiting for you to make it ...hmmm...sorta like external so i would be able to test it without need for you to re add it each time. because it was preliminary that time.

i can send to you what i got so far but how will we tune it?
User avatar
Pumo
D2X-XL Expert
D2X-XL Expert
Posts: 1437
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 9:28 pm
Location: Here :)
Contact:

Re: Putting .ASE models in the game...

Postby Pumo » Fri Mar 04, 2011 9:39 pm

The ship has a dynamic and subtle light attached to it by default since original D1.
It's part of the game itself, so you can't get rid of it manually, as it's not something related to your ASE model.
[Pumo software main website] - Pumo Mines current progress: 60%
-SYSTEM SPECS-
CPU: Intel Core i7 4790 3.6 GHz (4 GHz Turbo)
RAM: 16GB DDR3 1333MHZ
SSD: Kingston SSDNow V300, 240GB
HDD: Seagate 1TB 7200RPM SATA
External HDD: Seagate Backup Plus Slim 1TB 5400RPM
Video: nVidia GeForce GTX 1050 Ti OC 4GB
Sound: RealTek High Definition Audio
Display 1: LG 24M38H 24" 1080p HD LED Monitor
Display 2: Dell 19" 1440x900 TFT Monitor
OS: Windows 10 64-bits
-JoFFa-
Posts: 612
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 2:12 pm

Re: Putting .ASE models in the game...

Postby -JoFFa- » Sat Mar 05, 2011 8:29 am

Hmmm. Does that mean that this light controls the illumination of the model depending of the data of light of a cube, which, in turn, transferred to that single light and illuminates the ship model so in d1 they would not need to calculate the light sources influence therefore not consuming resources of memory and core speed??

Do i understand it correctly - that its more then just a thing which i do not know how to remove - and as its weaved into game in the first place - removal of it is a feature request status?
User avatar
karx11erx
D2X-XL Master
D2X-XL Master
Posts: 8112
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 8:48 pm
Location: Wilferdingen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Putting .ASE models in the game...

Postby karx11erx » Sat Mar 05, 2011 9:16 am

A ship or robot cast a certain (low) amount by themselves, and on top of that are illuminated by nearby lightsources. Since it is statically precomputed, with basic lighting (as in original D1/D2), an average segment light is computed from the segment's corner light values which is used to illuminate any objects inside the segment.
-JoFFa-
Posts: 612
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 2:12 pm

Re: Putting .ASE models in the game...

Postby -JoFFa- » Sun Mar 06, 2011 1:51 am

Ok. did you mean that for all types of light calculation(light maps as well) or just for "standart" light scheme(vertexes)? I see that even wolf - got a white light source above it. Does It smells like a bug? Do i have to put a bug report? I still do not believe that its a bug i think 3dsmax somehow makes the default lightsource. do not get it yet.
User avatar
karx11erx
D2X-XL Master
D2X-XL Master
Posts: 8112
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 8:48 pm
Location: Wilferdingen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Putting .ASE models in the game...

Postby karx11erx » Sun Mar 06, 2011 10:05 am

D2X-XL doesn't use any "light sources" that somehow may have been built into a model. It has no concept for this (except for the headlights). It just makes the object a weak light source itself (which is positioned at the object's center).
-JoFFa-
Posts: 612
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 2:12 pm

Re: Putting .ASE models in the game...

Postby -JoFFa- » Mon Mar 07, 2011 8:51 am

ok. how weak is it? in value? I'm going to put a screen of what i mean here soon.
Sirius
Posts: 1990
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 10:29 pm
Location: Bellevue, WA
Contact:

Re: Putting .ASE models in the game...

Postby Sirius » Mon Mar 07, 2011 6:04 pm

Not that this is a useful answer, but does it matter? I'm not sure you can do anything with the object light cast value even if you know what it is.

Return to “D2X-XL Mapping & Modding”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests